Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / [Answered]Associating physics with a drawn line.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi,

I'm a professional programmer by trade, but new to AppGameKit and so far I'm loving it.

I've dabbled with cocos2d and in that was able to easily add physics to a line (e.g allowing for collision etc).

I'm writing my first app where a user draws a freehand line (this is actually made up of a number of short lines, the lines can be at any angle. (and was based on a snippet of code I saw on this forum). They can draw curves loops etc.

Now I want to essentially create a box2d edge (is that a polygon with just two points ) for each segment of the line.

All I can see is how to create a polygon related to a sprite. Would I have to create a sprite for each line segment, a 1 pixel width rectangle of the length of the line segment and rotate it to the right angle of the line to achieve this?

If that's the way I have to go I will but I'm guessing (and hoping) there is an easier way to do this.

By the way - I am loving AppGameKit, a fantastic product and I can't wait to get my teeth into it further.
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Jan 2015 21:22
Quote: "All I can see is how to create a polygon related to a sprite. Would I have to create a sprite for each line segment, a 1 pixel width rectangle of the length of the line segment and rotate it to the right angle of the line to achieve this?"

In a word, yes. Then you would add physics joints to hold it all together. Or if the lines don't move, they can be static objects with no joints.

It's been a while since I used physics, but I think edges are available in DBPro and not AGK.