Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Help- Where to start learning?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Feb 2015 06:50
Hi,
I recently purchased AGK2 on sale and I have no experience in coding. I would like to get started in coding and stuff. The problem is... where do I start? I want to start with Tier 1 coding in AGK. Does anyone know any good learning sources for learning BASIC? I'm willing to do what ever it takes to learn BASIC and eventually C++. Thank you for any help!

~isaac
krid
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Feb 2015 14:31
well, between BASIC and C++ is a big gap, so it will be much better to learn BASIC and then C or JAVA, because they much easier.

Best source to learn basic is : download old BASIC compiler, find any book for that old BASIC and learn it
Sph!nx
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Feb 2015 15:44
The best resource for me is the supplied documentation. Create a new project and you basically have a small template program to work with.

First, read the "Principles" and "Language" sections, then there are many Examples. The command list is the most valuable part of the documentation.

Then, when creating stuff and you run in a problem, this forum is the place to ask. Everybody here is friendly and eager to help!

Regards Sph!nx
29 games
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Feb 2015 17:33
If you're getting really stuck then you could always buy this book: http://www.thegamecreators.com/?m=view_product&id=2334

Dead Pixel
Years of Service
User Offline