Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Power of two sprite question

Author
Message
Behdadsoft
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2009
Location: Tehran-Iran
Posted: 10th Apr 2015 22:01 Edited at: 10th Apr 2015 22:02
Hi.

I have two sprite and want make sprite sheet from them. my sprites no have standard size(64,128,256,512,...) and when I make sprite sheet, it no power of two output.

if I make power of two sprite sheet, it have empty space. (pic 1)
if I don't make Power of two sprite sheet, no have empty space. (Pic 2)

I know power of two sprite sheet make optimize memory else memory space is occupies.

My question is if i have power of two sprite sheet with empty space (Pic 1), don't occupies of memory? or better way is use an no power of two sprite sheet?

Please Guide Me.

Thanks.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 11th Apr 2015 01:32
The point is to use power of two size images wherever possible. If your image is less than power of two then you are using resources for 'empty' space. You could use the same amount of space with a higher quality image or you could use a lower quality image and use less resources.

The difference is not always huge. You could use a 240x240 image wasting very little memory or you could use a 260x260 image wasting a lot of memory... 256x256 would be ideal.

Using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
Behdadsoft
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2009
Location: Tehran-Iran
Posted: 11th Apr 2015 09:47
Quote: " If your image is less than power of two then you are using resources for 'empty' space. You could use the same amount of space with a higher quality image or you could use a lower quality image and use less resources."


I don't understand your mean.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 11th Apr 2015 18:47
I'm basically saying stick to the minimum power of two size image you can without the image looking bad.

Using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
Behdadsoft
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2009
Location: Tehran-Iran
Posted: 12th Apr 2015 18:19
ok,Thanks.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-19 22:00:20
Your offset time is: 2019-08-19 22:00:20