Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Tier 2, debug output

Author
Message
Cybermind
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2002
Location: Denmark
Posted: 29th Apr 2015 20:03 Edited at: 29th Apr 2015 21:49
Can I get some sort of debug out from my tier 2 app? It just crashes at certain actions but I don't really know what is happening or what it is that the app doesn't like. I use VS2013.

EDIT: Can I make my app open a console window where I can output each step manually?

The byte chrunchers are coming...
DIVIDING BY ZERO/BECAUSE WE SUCK...
Lucas Tiridath
AGK Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Sep 2008
Location: Kings Langley, UK
Posted: 29th Apr 2015 21:57
If you just need a debug print for developing in Visual Studio, your best bet is to use the OutputDebugString function, which writes directly to the Output window in Visual Studio.

Cybermind
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2002
Location: Denmark
Posted: 29th Apr 2015 22:02
Great, thanks I will look into it tomorrow

The byte chrunchers are coming...
DIVIDING BY ZERO/BECAUSE WE SUCK...
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 9th Jun 2015 04:52
Another option, since you are using Visual Studio, is to build your app in Debug mode and then run it from VS in debug and it should show you where it is crashing.

Sometimes you need to follow the call stack to get to the right place in your code.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-29 12:19:03
Your offset time is: 2024-03-29 12:19:03