Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / need help break down text string to more smaller text string

Author
Message
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 19th May 2015 22:21 Edited at: 20th May 2015 21:19
I thought i was on the right track
but it seems i do not fully understand

I want to take

name$="Left Button"

break it town to two strings
so they can displayed over a button

methode one :
a$="Left"
b$="Button"

methode two:
have the program store the words to NM$[1]

so the program counts to and store until it find the space

so
NM$[1]="Left"
NM$[2]="Button"

if at a latter date i want to more than just two words
i want the program to be able to use the mid command
to break the senance i give it

i tried this code



I've reworked things a bit
i'm closer but it still got a bug in it

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast

Attachments

Login to view attachments
BatVink
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 20th May 2015 16:49
You may kick yourself, there's a lot of code in this example...



Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur
TutCity is being rebuilt
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 20th May 2015 18:41
@BatVink

thanks

what i also found was adding in a extra space at the end of the of the last word

i saw the command but did not think it would be of help
i will try that


thanks for the help

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 20th May 2015 21:15 Edited at: 20th May 2015 21:47
i made a simple mistake and left out things should have been there

i still have to work out a aliment of the text on the button
but at least now it's working like i wanted it to

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast

Attachments

Login to view attachments

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-18 05:07:03
Your offset time is: 2019-08-18 05:07:03