Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Models and Media / Animated Shader help - Transparency settings

Author
Message
ncmako
7
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 28th Jun 2015 19:39 Edited at: 29th Jun 2015 18:41
Asking for some help on transparency settings. I'm using Bond1's
animated shader to run a decal on a "torch" weapon. In the video
one see's the mesh very easily and ruins the effect. I've tried
every setting I can think of (including texture) and the mesh
is still visible. (just wanting black to be transparent).
Any help is appreciated.
thank you


My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Madcow
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere, but not over the rainbow.
Posted: 28th Jun 2015 19:44 Edited at: 28th Jun 2015 19:45
The shader itself doesn't support transparency. You have to modify its code I think. I don't know how to do that but Rolfy has managed to do this for his caustics effect.

You might want to ask him some directions.

Utinni !
ncmako
7
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 29th Jun 2015 18:41
Yes Madcow, I remember Rolfy doing those. So I worked on applying
an alpha mask to the texture just where needed. I updated the
video above with the new textures. It's hard to see but the "flame"
area is now transparent. Need to clean it up now.
If there's a need/want for it I'll release it
thanks
best

My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Madcow
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere, but not over the rainbow.
Posted: 30th Jun 2015 08:18
Strange, last time I've tried to use a transparent texture, it didn't worked.

Utinni !
ncmako
7
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 30th Jun 2015 19:22
@Madcow
Yes I know, I struggled for 2 weeks to get this to work
I'm using V1.20_beta1.14 (most stable for me right now)
So I decided to try and add and extra bone for a smoke (decal)
effect, and it seems to be working
If I get ahold of a good torch flame (texture) that is free to use
I'll release this. The one I'm using is one of TGC's decals.


My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
s4real
Valued Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jul 2015 23:00
@ncmako :- Looking very good keep up the good work

best s4real

Amd fx4100,6gb ram,geforce 450

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-12-06 23:40:45
Your offset time is: 2019-12-06 23:40:45