Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 19th Jul 2015 11:30 Edited at: 19th Jul 2015 11:49
I decided to recode droidball and the editor, what I found was that maintaining the code became impossible in the end, so after a rethink of how I was coding, my code became a lot more neater and totally maintainable. I ended up with half the code as the old one but far more advanced! So it is possible to totally screw up without any thought! Here is a video of this recode of the editor,which I can use for just about any project, I built it on mostly using edit boxes to change values of an object before placing it, giving it group values and such which I pre-choose what value does what. so for instance the player has a group value of 1, the collectable red orbs a value of 6. and so on. Anyhow here is a video of the new one in action:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LA9RhuY0m8A

The fps speed is about halved whilst running bandicam as this is just a cheap laptop with not a good gpu atall for doing that stuff with!


I also recoded the 2d editor that I had also done as tutorials on my blog, again the old code was messy and very unmaintainable, I will update my blog with the new code to that as soon as I have checked things over!

Hail to the king, baby!
http://davidjohnwheeler.blogspot.co.uk
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 19th Jul 2015 19:29
how are you coding the lighting?
i am struggling with agk 3d lighting for some reason.

are you using a shader perhaps?

looks cool... keep it up!

www.sheldonscreations.com
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 19th Jul 2015 21:20 Edited at: 19th Jul 2015 21:41
I am just using the default 1 directional and 1 point light, the point light follows the cursor somewhat, the light mode on all objects are set to 1 as defaults. And thanks! ;P
*** Edit***
In my next video post I will show you a couple of more of it's capabilities, including loading and position external objects at the 3d cursor, and running hte level from the editor! Not only that, but I coded it in such a way as to handle several game genres, changable under the game type edit box, the value of 0(default) gets sent to a function called roller() which has a main game loop of it's own to tilt control the ball, a value of 1 and a function called platformer() is called,again with it's own game loop and again with it's own controls/camera movement!




this first creates them at the cursor.. and simply in the main loop..



this of course sets the 3d cursor objects position and ties the light to that position but slightly above(ypos#+5)...

Hail to the king, baby!
http://davidjohnwheeler.blogspot.co.uk
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 19th Jul 2015 22:07 Edited at: 19th Jul 2015 22:23
just to add, so yes I can only light up around my cursor, but it is a speed issue really,shaders simply slow down what is already getting heavy code wise!
And I am aiming for the mobile market... but I have thought about just cheating, using raycasting,you could have trigger tiles,when walked on or whatever,you would reposition that single light to whatever location you preset for it to appear, it just means tactical designing of the level!
** edit **
The only problem I have with AppGameKit 2 is it's current inability to repeat the texture on an object, but when I can, then the system will change to reflect this, vastly speeding it all up as I could scale 1 single object then to as long or wide or deep as I wish without having to stretch the texture...and everything else the updates has to offer, will also be thrown into this editor.

Hail to the king, baby!
http://davidjohnwheeler.blogspot.co.uk
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 20th Jul 2015 01:04 Edited at: 20th Jul 2015 01:20
Quote: "The only problem I have with AppGameKit 2 is it's current inability to repeat the texture on an object"

want some example code to create an obj file from scratch? from there you could realy just set the uv data manualy. Its an easy format to write with agk then just reload into agk
i seem to just have problems with the light point. i got directional working... just not the light point. Ill give it another shot thanks.

edit: i noticed i need to set my directional light y to a negative value to see any light. are my object normals upside down by chance? And point light does nothing for me unfortunetly

edit once again: Ah i figured it out! Thanks allot! i had to expand that light radius to 15000 just to see it. :p cheers!

www.sheldonscreations.com
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 20th Jul 2015 01:29 Edited at: 20th Jul 2015 12:13
perhaps this code can help you:




Use the up and down arrow to adjust the lights Y-Position

**edit.. ah sorry posted the same time.. lol.. yes it has to be a certain value as I also found out!!

*** Edit ****
If you could code out a quick demo of the texture repeating for me then yes please!
**edit** that was a crap demo of mine, I updated it for a better viewing, just in case anyone else finds it useful! Sorry I am just too fussy!

Hail to the king, baby!
http://davidjohnwheeler.blogspot.co.uk
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 20th Jul 2015 15:56
I can give ya some code for that tonight. Need to seperate it from my main project first. But should be easy.

www.sheldonscreations.com
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 20th Jul 2015 19:18
take ya time,working on other functions of the editor atm!

Hail to the king, baby!
http://davidjohnwheeler.blogspot.co.uk
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 21st Jul 2015 03:50 Edited at: 21st Jul 2015 03:55
ok so i did some simple testing and it looks like you will need to add more vertex,index data to your objects in order to repeat a texture more frequently.

this may not be the answer your looking for but the easiest way is to build your objects manualy.

again...probably not what you wanted but have a look anyways....may give you some ideas.



have a dig through my include file there and you will find out how to write an obj file and to load it back in....heck i got a complete animation system in there if you have looked at my thread you would have seen it in action. The worlds in my project are built from commands then saved as an obj, then loaded back in.

(project is kingdom battle grounds in this same forum)


here is the download for this code example building objects manualy.

www.sheldonscreations.com

Attachments

Login to view attachments
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 21st Jul 2015 14:47
Thanks man, I will look through it!

Here is the latest video showing the capability of running my level within the editor:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AqZeZXFcKaI



It wasn't as hard to do as I imagined and was well worth doing just for the instant testing of things!

Also I keep forgetting how to embed youtube links into this!

Hail to the king, baby!
http://davidjohnwheeler.blogspot.co.uk
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 21st Jul 2015 14:58 Edited at: 21st Jul 2015 15:04
Quote: "It wasn't as hard to do as I imagined and was well worth doing just for the instant testing of things!"

thats exactly what i did with my game... its a level editor and you play test it as ya draw and place things.

also the youtube embed works like this:

replace () with this []

(youtube)YyyjNcPAagE(/youtube)

take v= from your youtube link and place that into the embed code.

edit: level editor looks great btw!

www.sheldonscreations.com
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 21st Jul 2015 15:24 Edited at: 21st Jul 2015 21:55
Cheers for that, going to work on the platformer() function today, as you saw that was the roller() function running! I am going to save the levels out depending on what game type one chooses today, which is simply saving out as levelR1.lev for the roller level one say and LevelP1.lev for the platformer levels.. All simple, then I add more game genres, probably even first person and 3rd person, just to give me options of what to create with the exact same editor. Yes I know you can already buy these game making things for you, but it is not for me, I want my stuff to do what I want it to do, besides this is for mobile stuff!

*** edit *** I did start out with the editor specifically for just making the droidball levels, but after recoding the editor a lot more cleaner and maintainable, it became clear that it wouldn't now be hard to make anything with the same editor. It's just another function to me! Done what I said I would do and now it saves out the levels game type specific, done some work on the platformer() and now I play some psx1 games!

Hail to the king, baby!
http://davidjohnwheeler.blogspot.co.uk
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jul 2015 04:04
Right, here is a video showing the platformer mode,https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mr4Sw_c8BJA

The jumping code is a bit quick and dirty to be fare as I will probably be using the 3d physics once they become available! Making all that stuff easier... the sphere simply gets hidden and a box is put there instead, until all things work out okay!

But that should help grasp what I am trying to do! So by the change of a value or so it will run a level totally differently.

Hail to the king, baby!
http://davidjohnwheeler.blogspot.co.uk
SpecTre
Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posted: 22nd Jul 2015 05:32
Nice work, good to see some 3D stuff coming out on here now

The Amiga and Amos were great!
My website LEAP - Download Paint Pot here!
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jul 2015 17:36 Edited at: 22nd Jul 2015 17:47
Done more on the editor, this time creating a new game type1 Here is an early screenshot till I get things just right (camera need raising some!):




I am also going to grab the code from the old editor that allowed me to pair any 2 objects together, I was able to use one object as a 'host' and the other a 'client' of the host, not to be mixed up with multiplayer stuff..this naming convention was just easy for me to remember! So this opened the possibility of remote switches to control distant objects of whatever!Allowing for all sorts of triggers really. No need to show any editing as things are done the exact same way for all of them.

Hail to the king, baby!
http://davidjohnwheeler.blogspot.co.uk
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jul 2015 01:54
okay,another day,another major thing done, here is the result:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rW0JRyWZInI

The collisions and such like the rest will wait on 3d physics, but for now the main skeleton is done!

Hail to the king, baby!
http://davidjohnwheeler.blogspot.co.uk
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 24th Jul 2015 01:28
Got up this morning and thought it would be cool to have the editor make a kinda simple front end also. Here is my progress:


http://i.imgur.com/2tmgEoK.png

All that and probably more will be saved out as another file to be reloaded and reused.

Hail to the king, baby!
http://davidjohnwheeler.blogspot.co.uk
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 24th Jul 2015 16:07 Edited at: 24th Jul 2015 21:50
Finally got the rotations done in-game:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VcJz-S0cadE&feature=youtu.be

As you will see a relic from the past rotates within the level
It all runs full speed without the recording software and I fear my son has left his laptop running too long with steam and origin and all that in the background, even slowing down editing.. otherwise the recording would\'ve been a better video!

**Edit** I decided to record it externally running on the notebook with the tablet recording. here is the video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pD1aEOV_WGI
**edit** Video now made public...oooops!

Hail to the king, baby!
http://davidjohnwheeler.blogspot.co.uk
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 25th Jul 2015 17:20 Edited at: 26th Jul 2015 16:19
3 cubes spinning now, with the ability to change the speed as you see me do, loads of other things done but not ready or visible quite!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OcTWJfa0S10


** Edit ** Last post here, if anybody wishes to follow my progress then I will keep my blog updated from now on. Happy coding!

Hail to the king, baby!
http://davidjohnwheeler.blogspot.co.uk

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-10-16 20:27:53
Your offset time is: 2019-10-16 20:27:53