Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Models and Media / Making a model a full fledged character?

Author
Message
Minun
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2015
Location:
Posted: 17th Aug 2015 01:31
Well, I have a model that I converted from .3DS to .X and I want to import it as a character that you can shoot at, play as, anything that a human character would do. But the problem is tht I have no idea how... I took the model to User folder, it did not appear in the entities list. Basically, I want a tutorial on how to turn a model into a character in FPS creator.
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 18th Aug 2015 03:52
Hi Minun and welcome
Quote: "I took the model to User folder, it did not appear"

First open a "stock"characters files and take a look on how they are setup. Open it's .fpe file and study it a bit. You'll see a characters .fpe file points to various things like the .x file, texture's, shader's..ect. Also at the top it points to it's "thumbnail" image (so one can see it in the entity list)
Lastly, does your characters .x file have animation?
A very good place to start is in your "Doc's" folder is a pdf file
called ocfpscGuide (official Comm. fpsc guide) It has a wealth of info your looking for. Poke around in it and read up of some things
related to characters.
One easy method I do is after creating a custom character, textures
scripts..ect is just to copy a stock characters .fpe file and make
any necessary changes to get it to work. It only seems confusing at first. Ask if you get stuck somewhere?
best

My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Minun
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2015
Location:
Posted: 18th Aug 2015 05:07
How do I open .fpe files?
It has no animation since it was a converted model rip.
Minun
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2015
Location:
Posted: 18th Aug 2015 05:22
The character's there, but it's a tiny grey dot? Is that a glitch or do I have to scale it up?
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 19th Aug 2015 03:38 Edited at: 19th Aug 2015 03:42
Minun
Quote: "How do I open .fpe files?"

You can open .fpe files (and any of the other types) with just notepad. Remember to make backups of originals if you plan to make changes.
Quote: "It has no animation since it was a converted model rip"

I had a feeling as such. Yes, a model needs to have animation
in order to be usable. As I said the Official Comm. Guide is a good place to start. You can even use a stock characters skeletal rig. Unless..you want your model just to be a static entity.
If you do?....here's a link to "Entity WorkShop2" It's perfect for making static entities..http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=111796&b=21

Do you have "Milkshape or Fragmotion"? Here's a link to a working
fpsc skeletal rig..
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=62483&b=
Also remember, if you converted a model use it only for PERSONAL use. It most likely is copy-righted.
Quote: "it's a tiny grey dot? Is that a glitch"

No, most likely it's due to missing info in the characters .fpe file like models file path, texture path...ect
I would start with Entity WorkShop2 and make a few static entities
and see how the file structure is setup. Then progress to characters.
best luck

My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Minun
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2015
Location:
Posted: 19th Aug 2015 12:48
I have fragmotion. Does the rig still work on it?
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 20th Aug 2015 01:44
Minun
It's a ms3d file (Milkshape) works in Milkshape and can be imported into Fragmotion.

My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 20th Aug 2015 01:55
go to my website.

http://www.chaosbrosfilms.com

go to joe's page. scroll down a little to fragmotion tutorials. look for rigging a fpsc model.

right click and save target as.

I explain it all.

gamer, lover, filmmaker

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-25 16:46:48
Your offset time is: 2019-08-25 16:46:48