Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / I've many problems with my windows. Pls help.

Author
Message
TodeGamer
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2012
Location: Bangkok,Thailand
Posted: 23rd Aug 2015 12:26 Edited at: 23rd Aug 2015 12:27
I'm have problems with my pc. First, about winrar. After installing it for about 1 hour, when I run it again, it says not valid win32 software or that kid of thing. Second, Many programs I've installed, They simply can't launch, even steam client! I know you guys may ask for screenshots but my pc is THAI language so I don't think you guys would understand. I hate this man.

Here are what I've done:

Scan for Virus and get rid of. (Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, Usbfix, RegCure Pro etc.)
Restart PC.
Delete Crap.

Please Help!

I though I need a new harddrive, maybe this one is old. I think it's more than 6 years.

I love to make games

http://www.youtube.com/user/thespicy847
bitJericho
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 23rd Aug 2015 14:29
Yes could be a bad hard drive or bad virus. Reinstall windows and see if it's better.

TodeGamer
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2012
Location: Bangkok,Thailand
Posted: 23rd Aug 2015 14:31
I just reinstalled it last month.

I love to make games

http://www.youtube.com/user/thespicy847
bitJericho
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 23rd Aug 2015 14:35 Edited at: 23rd Aug 2015 14:37
For the same problem? Then it could be the hard drive, motherboard, ram, cpu or psu. This is because all of those parts are very important for writing the correct information to the hard drive. You can test everything except the hard drive all at the same time with this program:

http://www.memtest.org/#downiso

Run this for a few hours, if you see no problems, it's probably a bad hard drive, but could still be a bad motherboard. Hard drive is better to replace because it's more likely if you pass this test.

TodeGamer
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2012
Location: Bangkok,Thailand
Posted: 23rd Aug 2015 15:58
Which one should I download? By the way, I've removed the Video Card 'cause its broken. And my CPU also have a video card inside (I think it's AMD Radeon HD 6770D).

I love to make games

http://www.youtube.com/user/thespicy847
Yodaman Jer
User Banned
Posted: 23rd Aug 2015 16:50
I'm with bitJericho, definitely sounds like a faulty hard drive, or a bad virus.

Did you reinstall Windows last month for this same problem, or another?


Forum President until June 20th, 2016. Bow down to me!
TodeGamer
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2012
Location: Bangkok,Thailand
Posted: 23rd Aug 2015 16:54
Same problem.

I love to make games

http://www.youtube.com/user/thespicy847
wattywatts
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th May 2009
Location: Michigan
Posted: 23rd Aug 2015 19:39
Is your copy of Windows genuine? If so, my money's on the hard drive.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: Playing
Posted: 23rd Aug 2015 21:51
Umm just asking but which Windows edition is it? And as above... is it a legitimate copy...

How much RAM do you have installed and is it all accounted for?
How much available memory does Task Manager show?
Try turning off hard drive page filing... maybe the hard drive is struggling to cache in time etc....

A cheap fix would be to grab a spare Hard Disk from a friend if possible to diagnose that scenario, provided this was possible...

If you could detail your system specifications more, it may help too...

TodeGamer
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2012
Location: Bangkok,Thailand
Posted: 24th Aug 2015 12:51 Edited at: 24th Aug 2015 12:52
My specs:

Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Ram: 4 GB
Video Card: None
Processor: AMD A10-5800K APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics





Everything is as in the pics except for the Video Card and the BIOS date.

I love to make games

http://www.youtube.com/user/thespicy847
MrValentine
AGK Backer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: Playing
Posted: 24th Aug 2015 22:10
Drive 2, is that an SSD?

TodeGamer
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2012
Location: Bangkok,Thailand
Posted: 25th Aug 2015 13:57
Quote: "Drive 2, is that an SSD?"
]

I don't even know. These spec were generated by CanIRunIt. I'm very stupid about hardware so...

I love to make games

http://www.youtube.com/user/thespicy847
Yodaman Jer
User Banned
Posted: 25th Aug 2015 16:55
How do you not know what's in your computer?


Forum President until June 20th, 2016.
TodeGamer
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2012
Location: Bangkok,Thailand
Posted: 25th Aug 2015 17:28
@Yodaman Jer

You mean the specs?

I love to make games

http://www.youtube.com/user/thespicy847
Yodaman Jer
User Banned
Posted: 25th Aug 2015 17:45 Edited at: 25th Aug 2015 18:35
Yes and no. I meant how do you not know if something is an SSD or not in your computer?

EDIT: I don't mean to sound rude it just surprises me you don't know if your hard drive is an SSD or not.

Based on its size I would guess it to either an oddly allocated SSD, or a small-capacity hard drive (about 180GB). Is it possible you can look in your computer and take pictures so we can see?


Forum President until June 20th, 2016.
Green Gandalf
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Location: Cornwall UK
Posted: 25th Aug 2015 18:33
Quote: "Yes and no. I meant how do you now know if something is an SSD or not in your computer?"


I wouldn't know whether something was SSD or not in mine either - but I'd guess it isn't. I'm only interested in a machine that works - what goes on inside is a complete mystery to me. I guess TodeGamer is the same.



Powered by Free Banners
Yodaman Jer
User Banned
Posted: 25th Aug 2015 18:36
Haha true, sorry I didn't mean to come off as rude or anything like that, in my edit in my last post I said it was just surprising to me.

My mother is the same way, doesn't care what the insides do, she just wants it to work. She hates Windows 8 with a passion too


Forum President until June 20th, 2016.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: Playing
Posted: 26th Aug 2015 02:57 Edited at: 26th Aug 2015 03:00
Quote: "Based on its size I would guess it to either an oddly allocated SSD, or a small-capacity hard drive (about 180GB). Is it possible you can look in your computer and take pictures so we can see?"


This or show us the list of Hard Disks in Device manager... if you can figure out how without us making or finding a guide for you ^^

EDIT

Re-reading your post,
Quote: "I think it\'s more than 6 years."
Yeah it could be a crappy individual drive... or a divided drive partition... man could even be PATA cable based 133 drives

I think you need to open it up, but if you are not sure...

OOOOH BOY the amount of dust that will be in there LOL

Green Gandalf
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Location: Cornwall UK
Posted: 26th Aug 2015 20:07
Quote: "OOOOH BOY the amount of dust that will be in there LOL"


Sounds like you're talking about my desktop PC.



Powered by Free Banners
MrValentine
AGK Backer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: Playing
Posted: 26th Aug 2015 20:08
hahahaha

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-09-26 06:11:40
Your offset time is: 2018-09-26 06:11:40