Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / How DBPro helped me get a job in mechanical engineering

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Sep 2015 18:47
I've been a mechanical engineer for the past fourteen years and have recently been looking for a new job and a change in industry – currently in refrigeration and will be moving to a place that design and make big electric motors, which I have no experience of.

As part of the second interview I had to give a presentation on my achievements but I'd already given a kind of mini-presentation of my prior work, showing things that I'd designed and the kind of calculations / analysis work I had done. So for the second interview I decided to do a presentation on making computer games (I've attached a pdf version of this for you to look at).

The presentation mainly focused on my game Purple Complex (written in DBPro) and I started by talking about the game in very broad terms and then narrowed it down to some very specific details of how the enemy AI behaves. I also talked about creating and animating CGI models but stopped short of demonstrating the sound effects as I didn't think it would be appropriate to fill the meeting room with the sound of gun fire.

I finished the presentation by listing what I think are the key skills that are required to make a game - imagination, problem solving, ability to learn, planning, dealing with critique and feedback, determination and motivation - which I think is a pretty good set of skills to cultivate.