Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Advanced Lighting and Laptops

Author
Message
Naesa
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 26th Oct 2015 20:32
Hei guys,

I'm making a Zeldaesque game using Evolved's Advanced Lighting. On my standard PC i get 60 fps with all effects enabled without any problems.
However, when trying the game out on a couple of different laptops, the fps drops to about 10-30.

My desktop PC specs: Windows 7, Intel Core i5, Geforce GTX760, 8 gb ram = 60 fps
Laptop 1 specs: Windows 8, Intel Core i3, Geforce GT730m, 12 gb ram = 10-30 fps
Laptop 2 specs: Windows 8.1, Intel Core i5, Geforce GTX860m, 6 gb ram = 10-30 fps
Both laptops were set to high performance and Geforce GPU as standard.

I tried the AL examples as well and there is a significant fps-drop on both laptops.
Have any of you guys encountered this problem with AL and laptops?
Cescano
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2014
Location: Italy
Posted: 26th Oct 2015 22:05
I think you could tweak some graphics options in the code, I get from 35 fps using maximum quality up to 80 and more with lower quality (testing on the new game I am making)
In particular these 3:

PostProcessing_SetUp()
Water_Create()
DirLight_Create()

Make sure you are using the bone bump shader for animating objects, or it will kills the framerate very heavily.

My specs (Lenovo z500 laptop): Windows 8.1, i7 2.2 Ghz, 8GB RAM, Nvidia gt635m. No framedrops here.
Ortu
DBPro Master
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posted: 26th Oct 2015 23:10
A common issue on laptops is that with some games it will try to use the integrated gpu instead of your discrete card, I know you can force it to use the card, though I dont remember off hand where the settings are, but it is something to look at
Naesa
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 26th Oct 2015 23:23 Edited at: 26th Oct 2015 23:24
Hi Cescano
I tried disabling all the post effects, the water and I set the directional light to only 1 pass, 64x64 with subsurface and specular off and still only 33 fps at the max.
I tried it with a couple of AL-demos as well just to make sure that it wasn't something with my code that screwed up the fps but still no luck, runs at a steady 30 fps on both laptops.
Very strange as it seems that your laptop have about the same specs as mine?

May I ask what fps you get from the terrain example on your Lenovo?
Naesa
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 26th Oct 2015 23:31
Hi Ortu! That could very well be the issue. I set the nvidia system program to force rendering with the geforce gpu but perhaps dbpro overrides it to render with the internal gpu?
Naesa
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 27th Oct 2015 07:59
Alright, update. I installed the DirectX June 2010 end user runtimes in Windows 8 and suddenly the framerate went up from around 20-30 fps to a fairly steady 55 fps on both laptops.
Here's a link to the runtimes in case any one else've had this problem.

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109
Green Gandalf
VIP Member
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 27th Oct 2015 12:53
Quote: "Alright, update. I installed the DirectX June 2010 end user runtimes in Windows 8 and suddenly the framerate went up from around 20-30 fps to a fairly steady 55 fps on both laptops."


Interesting. I wonder what caused the improvement.


Powered by Free Banners
Cescano
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2014
Location: Italy
Posted: 27th Oct 2015 16:35
Yeah that's weird, the program should not even run without the directx 9.0 June 2010, maybe works with a previous version but with lower fps?
Naesa
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 1st Nov 2015 08:38
Quote: "Interesting. I wonder what caused the improvement."
No idea at all. A guess would be that some of the older runtimes just works better with dbpro.
luskos
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 3rd Nov 2015 09:08
Didn't invest much time in looking and understanding the code but there is few basic functions like:
PostProcessing_SetUp()
Water_Create()
DirLight_Create()
Where supposedly when 1 becomes 0 should disable some parts of code and improve fps, which is not happening, even when i tweak them, still got steady 20fps.Is this the best i can have with my HD7600M GPU?
Coding is My Kung Fu!
And My Kung Fu is better than Yours!
Ortu
DBPro Master
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posted: 3rd Nov 2015 20:01
What FPS do you get running HL2 or equivalent? The Unigine benchmark utility?

If you get similar performance on other programs with similar graphics settings, then there is no issue, that's just what the machine is capable of. If other equivalent graphics perform better then:

Add some timing metrics to your program, how long does the AL update take? How long does the rest of the main loop take?

are there other non-AL bottlenecks cutting your fps?

How many objects are you rendering?
can some be instanced?
What are the tri counts and texture sizes?
Can these be reduced?
Can some objects be joined into one object as limbs?
If bone animation, ate you using the fast bone animating shaders instead of the static object surface shaders?
Are you using many point lights? Can these be replaced by spot lights which are more performant?

There are many factors that go into performance issues, and many optimizations that need to be made to get the most out of both AL and dbpro.

the first step is to identify where your performance time is actually going, then optimize, then compare to equivalent settings in other applications.
luskos
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 5th Nov 2015 05:19
Just WOW!
I was asking about clean AL terrain demo, forgot to tell that.I don't own HL2, but downloading Unigine benchmark atm.I will invest more time into the system because it's really nice, for now must concentrate on some other things.Just curious about it.Recently fall onto your Sulium Demo, really nice work by the way.Keep it like this!
Already checked @Naesa's GTX860m.Got some comparission online, it's about 200% better than my HD7600M, it's normal to have those near 60fps.Still not sure it's rendering trough radeon or intel.As i have low fps to other games too.Could be a driver issue.Must investigate!
Coding is My Kung Fu!
And My Kung Fu is better than Yours!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-18 03:37:25
Your offset time is: 2024-04-18 03:37:25