Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
Brian Lancaster
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2013
Location:
Posted: 10th Nov 2015 12:49
My game is working on pretty much every computer I try it on except the new one I bought. I get the "parameter incorrect" error when I start it up. I looked up this problem in the forums and it is apparently an issue with Windows 7 SP1 (even though this is exactly what my old computer was running and it worked fine). I can't uninstall SP1 because my version of windows came with it.

The solution on the forum was to install U77, but now Sparky's Collision plugin won't work, and that plugin is absolutely necessary for any FPS on DBPro.

Is it true that plugins don't work on the latest version of U77? I would like to download maybe an older version but I can't find one. Any other ideas?

Any feedback would be appreciated.
Is it not dust which from a thousand shelves
Imprisons me behind this towering wall
(of porn)?
WickedX
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2009
Location: A Mile High
Posted: 10th Nov 2015 15:48 Edited at: 10th Nov 2015 15:58
To my knowledge DBPro 7.5 is the only version that this is a problem. DBPro 7.7 is beta, the newest release version is U7.62 or you can use an older version. I use DBPro version 7.4 myself.

Edit: You can find any version you want here. - http://www.thegamecreators.com/?m=view_product&id=2000&page=upgrade7-62
Brian Lancaster
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2013
Location:
Posted: 10th Nov 2015 16:18 Edited at: 10th Nov 2015 16:24
Sweet thanks. Trying it now. Any other reasons you choose 7.4?
Didn't see those little links on that page. I gotta be more observant.
Is it not dust which from a thousand shelves
Imprisons me behind this towering wall
(of porn)?
WickedX
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2009
Location: A Mile High
Posted: 10th Nov 2015 16:37 Edited at: 10th Nov 2015 16:38
In my opinion 7.4 is the most stable bug free version there is. The newer version add maybe a couple new commands but, it's not worth the additional bugs introduced.
Brian Lancaster
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2013
Location:
Posted: 11th Nov 2015 06:25 Edited at: 11th Nov 2015 06:30
Maybe I just don't know how to use plugins. Every time I reinstall DarkBasic and update it, SC_Collision won't work. When I move the DLL into the plugin folders then I get error messages upon compiling that say my NEXT and ENDIF commands are out of place (which clearly they are not).
Am I missing something about installing plugins?

EDIT: Previously I've just been using the installed folder of an old DarkBasic 7.6 and copying it on my USB without installing it. It works perfectly fine, except on Windows 7 64 bit SP1.
Is it not dust which from a thousand shelves
Imprisons me behind this towering wall
(of porn)?
Scorpyo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: italy
Posted: 11th Nov 2015 06:56
probably redundant question:
have you installed the latest DirectX 09c libraries?
Brian Lancaster
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2013
Location:
Posted: 11th Nov 2015 07:04 Edited at: 11th Nov 2015 07:10
I do have DX 9C installed on my old computer. My game works fine with my old non-installed version of DBP 7.6. But whenever I try the newly installed version I get the command out of place error. I'm gonna try a really old version.

EDIT: I'm pretty sure this is due to SC_Collision. If all else fails, I can give up and just accept the fact that my game won't work on that one very specific version of Windows. I try it out at all the net bars and friends' computers and it still works fine.
Is it not dust which from a thousand shelves
Imprisons me behind this towering wall
(of porn)?
Scorpyo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: italy
Posted: 11th Nov 2015 07:14
I think I'm not following you :

Old Computer Win 7 SP1 DX 09c > DBP working

New Computer Win 7 SP1 DX 09c > DBP not working

Is it like that?
Brian Lancaster
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2013
Location:
Posted: 11th Nov 2015 07:25 Edited at: 11th Nov 2015 07:37
Actually forget about the new computer. Every time I reinstall DBP on my old computer it also doesn't work (NEXT and ENDIF errors), and I'm 90% sure it's because of SC_Collision. However, when I use my old uninstalled version of DBP, the one I keep on my USB that I don't have to install, the game works perfectly.

I must be missing something really obvious about plugins here.

EDIT: However, the game won't work on my new computer after compiling on my non-installed DBP even though it has the exact same windows as my old computer (though my new computer's windows came with SP1 already installed and my old one did not). Screw it. I'm just gonna go back to America and buy a shotgun from Walmart and end it all. So long suckers.
(seriously would like a solution, though)
Is it not dust which from a thousand shelves
Imprisons me behind this towering wall
(of porn)?
Scorpyo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: italy
Posted: 11th Nov 2015 07:39
Oh I see. Quite weird.
I would simply copy the USB DBP 7.6 folder into the PC hard drive and use that.
Have you analyzed the USB DBP folder structure and compared it to a fresh DBP install folder with plug-ins to see if there is any difference (which shouldn't)?
One reason why the USB exes do run may be that their compatibility mode has been changed to other than Win 7 SP1.
You can check that by right clicking on the exes and inspect the compatibility mode.
For example, I'm on Win 8.1 and all my DBP exes (Launch.exe,editor.exe,DBPcompile.exe,DBPdebug.exe) are set to Win XP SP2 compatibility.
Brian Lancaster
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2013
Location:
Posted: 11th Nov 2015 07:43
Very good suggestion. I will do that later tonight.
Also I live in China so all Windows are counterfeit copies, but that shouldn't matter.
Is it not dust which from a thousand shelves
Imprisons me behind this towering wall
(of porn)?
Brian Lancaster
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2013
Location:
Posted: 11th Nov 2015 10:35 Edited at: 11th Nov 2015 10:42
Out of 14120 lines of code, it only screws up on 3 lines (one NEXT command and 2 ENDIFs). If I comment them out, the game compiles, then I try to run it and it says, "Include at least one memblock command in your code." Don't ask me why.

EDIT: Also I noticed the debugger says the problem is 5 lines above where the NEXT and ENDIF errors are that it highlights.
Is it not dust which from a thousand shelves
Imprisons me behind this towering wall
(of porn)?
Brian Lancaster
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2013
Location:
Posted: 11th Nov 2015 11:59
Probably my disc image is corrupted. I ripped it a long time ago when I bought the DBP CD from a Fry's Electronics. I'm gonna ask the admins if I can somehow download a new commercial version.
Is it not dust which from a thousand shelves
Imprisons me behind this towering wall
(of porn)?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-12-14 19:23:24
Your offset time is: 2018-12-14 19:23:24