Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / i don't actually want to make a game...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
i want to make a classic AD&D 2nd edition character generator. i'd also like to eventually be able to add class modules for extended customization of characters as needed.

i'm completely new to AppGameKit and haven't written anything since the days of QBASIC

does anyone have some tutorials they can point me at to help me along with doing forms, buttons, data manipulation, etc etc etc... ?
Van B
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Nov 2015 12:37
I think you'd learn all you need just by checking the tutorials - things like buttons and sprites are very easy to create and monitor.

Personally I would use a TYPE, which would then be used in an array - this would allow the system to hold more than 1 character at a time.
Like:
TYPE rpgdude
name as string
age as integer
ATT as integer
DEF as integer
HP as integer
ENDTYPE

DIM dude(32) as rpgdude

Now there would be an array called 'dude', and you can access the components of the type quite easily, like say you just want to roll some stats...

dude(0).age=RANDOM(18,100)
dude(0).ATT=RANDOM(1,10)
dude(0).DEF=RANDOM(1,10)
dude(0).HP=RANDOM(50,100)

Just using RANDOM(start,finish) to give basic values, but of course you'd go further than that.

One benefit of using a TYPE'd array like this is you can hold several characters data at a time - those could be heroes in a party, or even opponents... like you could have enemy characters in there as well, and use it to calculate encounters and combat automatically.