Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / GLOBAL and Functions

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Feb 2016 00:28
Here I am with my usual remedial questions... after 5 years I'm still learning DBP... LoL
So here goes:

True or False?
In order for variables to be recognized by functions they must be declared as GLOBAL, else they will be treated as new variables in the function itself.
Am I even close?

Also, is there a way to make all variables GLOBAL by default without having to declare them all individually?

That's all for now, Thanks!
Ortu
DBPro Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Feb 2016 02:46 Edited at: 12th Feb 2016 02:49
True, although you can also pass them in as arguments without making them global.

You really wouldn't want to make every variable global by default, scope is a thing for a reason.

Also note, Arrays are always global in dbpro
WickedX
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Feb 2016 03:40
You could use subroutines in place of functions.
Derek Darkly
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Feb 2016 16:07

Quote: "you can also pass them in as arguments without making them global. "

Now that you mention it, I guess this is sort of the whole point of functions, isn't it?
See, I know I'm slow, I just don't always know why.

Quote: "You could use subroutines in place of functions."

True, which is what I've done since I started, but as I plan bigger programs I'm starting to weigh the value of functions against just using subs with arrays to handle many variables. Being slow, I have yet to reach any conclusions. I suppose it's best to be taken on a case-by-case basis in one's code.