Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Opinion Required

Author
Message
Mriganka
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 21st Jun 2016 12:50 Edited at: 27th Jun 2016 16:25
Hello everyone

A few nights ago I made a script that stimulates a damage effect to players. It adds a new level of awesomeness to the gameplay. I just wanted to ask your opinion on which level of the hitback effect should I consider for a game that I am developing. Take a look at the video below and comment.

And just in case anyone wants to tinker with the script here it is, albeit a simple one.

Quote: "
:state=0,plralive=1:dimlocalvar=H,state=1
:state=1:setvar=H $PH,state=2
:state=2,plralive=0:state=0
:state=2,plrhealthless=%H:etimerstart,plrwobble=250,state=3
:state=3,etimergreater=250:plrwobble=0,setvar=H $PH,state=2
"




Just in case anyone cannot access the YouTube embed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkNwOIOcmI4

Attachments

Login to view attachments
sbegley001
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jun 2016
Location: Southern Oregon, USA
Posted: 22nd Jun 2016 06:53
Nice script, I will definitely play around with this in a few. Personally I like the value at 1000, makes it feel like you are really being hit hard!

Also, on the embedding i saw something in the FPSC Community Rules and Information Thread. A ways down they talk about embedding images/video/etc.
"If you don't finish your game in one week, THAT'S OKAY. Give yourself a break and jump right back onto the project next week." - Adriel Wallick

"The important thing is just to use whatever is at your disposal to create new ideas and come up with stuff that's fresh and new. That's just the important thing. Rather than trying to recreate something, or go over the same old ground, create new things." - Koji Kondo

"To evoke emotions through art, in games or anything else, you have to break down your medium. What's the minimum amount of information we can use to tell you what you need to know about an object? Use that, and nothing more." - Luis Antonio
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 22nd Jun 2016 23:53
I'll go with 750.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 23rd Jun 2016 23:32
Good work Mriganka Keep it up.
One thing, you can/should remove the "etimerstop" command.
As far as I know there isn't one Other wise good script.

Nice to see you seppgirty
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mriganka
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 24th Jun 2016 12:21 Edited at: 24th Jun 2016 16:49
@ncmako
Quote: "One thing, you can/should remove the "etimerstop" command"


I don't think the script will work exactly as it needs to without the etimerstop command. So, looping it whole would be a better idea I guess. But what did you have in mind?
Okay, after testing the script without the etimerstop command everything works fine. So, tell me, why do prefer to not use the etimerstop command? Is there some bug?

@everybody

Thank you for your opinions.

PS - I tried a few more times but still could not embed the video.
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 24th Jun 2016 19:27
Mriganka
Quote: "why do prefer to not use the etimerstop command? "

As far as I know that command does not exist, so there's no need for it

To embed a Youtube video, use the "Youtube" code tags like your doing, but ONLY
paste the actual video ID tag (the code after the "watch?v=" sing) Yours being KkNwOIOcmI4.
Just place that code (KkNwOIOcmI4) between the Youtube tags and it will work.
best
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mr Love
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 26th Jun 2016 17:37
How do You add fpi scripts to the player?
Mriganka
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 27th Jun 2016 16:21 Edited at: 27th Jun 2016 16:24
@Mr Love

You could copy the required text in the .fpi file and set it in the main box of a triggerzone. I have attached the script for convenience.

And don't forget to to put the .fpi file in the directory - FPS Creator/Files/scriptbank.

@ncmako

Thanks for the tip man!

Attachments

Login to view attachments

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-03-22 14:21:21
Your offset time is: 2019-03-22 14:21:21