Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Just an idea.

Author
Message
Mriganka
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 16th Apr 2017 06:07
@ncmako Have you tried particles for rain or probably HUDs?
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 16th Apr 2017 11:09
@ Mriganka
Quote: "Have you tried particles for rain or probably HUDs"

I'll try both, I have a feeling the particle type rain will be very resource heavy?
The post-process type is already ( a kind of ) "hud" type. (it uses a diffuse & normal map for the rain)
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 16th Apr 2017 18:02
Quote: " I have a feeling the particle type rain will be very resource heavy?"


IT is very resource heavy.

@ ncmako
was wondering if you could share the guns "bang bang" word effect and some instructions on how to use it. Also, how did you do the chapter text at the beginning of the level? That is really sweet.

@ all
feel free to post pics and what-nots in the WIP thread for our game.

Happy Easter to all who celebrate it. Off to my brothers for dinner.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 17th Apr 2017 01:33
@ Seppgirty
Quote: " share the guns "bang bang" word effect and some instructions on how to use it"

Yes, super easy and simple. I attached the files I'm using. Just take a smoke decal and add the words you want.
Saved under new name. Words must be carefully centered for each frame. Open my decal and take a look.
Now, every gun's "gunspec" file has a command called "smoke" if you want smoke of course
To change, open the gunspec for the weapon you need to change (ie..colt45) To keep your original "smoke" on file
just comment it out with a semicolon. Add this new command "smokedecal = path to file". This is how mine is setup.

Notice "smokedecal" just points to the new folder, that's all.
Do the same for something like the ww2 mp40, "smokedecal = ratattat "

Now for the hud fade out, I also included those files, just drop in. Attach the script to a triggerzone.
Place anywhere at start. I used .png files for smaller size and so "black" isn't a problem with transparency.
Plrdisabled for first 9 sec's. Sound (sound=$0) I used was a simple bass drum hit.

If anything is amiss, let me know

My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
arrojar entidad y que explote
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2015
Location:
Posted: 17th Apr 2017 02:01
Hello people. I think this is the best thing you can do with the sincity configuration. Does anyone have any other suggestions for improving it?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kn-2cL_XkaE


ReShade config:

float3 SincityPass(float3 color)
{
float sinlumi = dot(color.rgb, float3(1.90f,0.85f,0.0f));
if(color.r > (color.g + 0.0f) && color.r > (color.b + 0.10f))
{
color.rgb = float3(sinlumi, 0, 0)*1.5;
}
else
{
color.rgb = sinlumi;
}
return color;
}
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 17th Apr 2017 02:51
@ ncmako
i will give it a try as soon as i can. thank you.

@ arrojar
that looks fantastic. great job.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 18th Apr 2017 19:32
@ arrojar entidad
I tried your "sin city" settings. I found them a little too heavy in the red. But is that the look/feel your going for?


Or do you want something a little more low key ???

I've got my settings for only the deepest red to show, and no muzzleflash red.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
arrojar entidad y que explote
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2015
Location:
Posted: 18th Apr 2017 23:59
@ncmako
that's what I want. The problem I notice, are the red spots where I should not go red. Or the red of the eye hud and the light of shots. Red should be cleaner and I do not know how to make it look good.
Mr Love
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 19th Apr 2017 22:47 Edited at: 20th Apr 2017 09:30
@arrojar
I dont think Sin City when looking at Your level, I think that something must be wrong with My graphics card. I think You have gone all too far with the red color...

@ncmako
Just wondering if You still have problems with the water-shader? Otherwise I have a pretty good tool to make waves to a decal seamless...

Keep it up Guys!
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 21st Apr 2017 11:19
@ Mr Love It's not that I'm having problems, it's just killing my fps. I'm trying to keep everything above 35fps, and
adding any water shader drops it below 30. Thanks, I'll manage something though.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mr Love
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 22nd Apr 2017 00:32
Quote: "@ Mr Love It's not that I'm having problems, it's just killing my fps"

Isnt that a problem?

Quote: "I'll manage something though."

Just wanted to be nice back. Those waves I make is from a CSP program called wobbler and it does not have any copyright limits to be afraid of. (Its a freeware program) See if You can find the program, google it!
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 22nd Apr 2017 16:40 Edited at: 22nd Apr 2017 16:41
Mr Love If you could, please give me a link to the "Wave Generator"
I can't seem to find it?
If you have one made, would like to try it out?
Thanks
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 22nd Apr 2017 16:57
anyone else having trouble with fpsc cleaner in black ice mod?
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 22nd Apr 2017 18:14
@ seppgirty Are you still using the stock cleaner.
I stopped using it a long time ago. Try this one from Bond1. It's very, very fast !!!
https://forum.thegamecreators.com/thread/196309
Just drop into root FPS Creator folder and run it
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 23rd Apr 2017 01:06
thanks ncmako, i'll give it a try.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Mr Love
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 26th Apr 2017 23:51
Hey ncmako! I tried to make a good water decal, but everything looks bad because of the very high animation speed in FPSC. If You courld slow that down it wourld look mutch better.. Didnt look good in texture-wobbler so I made a decal in Caustics-generator. It looks pretty mutch like water, but isnt perfect. Its freeware, so You can download it Yourself and do a better version than mine that I made in 2 minutes.. Well here is a test decal for You to play with...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 28th Apr 2017 00:16
I just installed latest BI mod now i get black squares when enemy fires weapons. anyone else have this problem? How do i fix it? Also, my barrels won't explode.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 28th Apr 2017 10:53 Edited at: 28th Apr 2017 10:57
@ seppgirty
Quote: "anyone else have this problem?"

No, nothing like this. Specifically which gun. You installed BI V10.5, correct?
I tested the scifi barrels and they explode for me just fine.
Black squares on the guns, sound like the old muzzle flash problem, that was usually white squares?

Edit: just thought of something, did you try those "text" decals or change the "gunspec" that
I suggested before "for the smoke decal) Maybe that has something to do with it? Maybe it's
looking for the default smoke decal.

@ Mr Love Thank you, playing with the Caustics generator now, hopeful I can get something
going for water that doesn't hit performance.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 29th Apr 2017 03:38
Quote: "Black squares on the guns, sound like the old muzzle flash problem, that was usually white squares?
"


They are probably white. i have the sin city shader on. I only changed the colt 45 to your kapow. It is only effecting the enemies muzzle flash. I had no problems before upgrading to BI 10.5

@ all

How are you guys doing on your levels?
gamer, lover, filmmaker
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 29th Apr 2017 16:41
OK now my weapons are leaving 2 bullet holes. I can't find the post that tells you how to fix that. I know i did it before.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Mriganka
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 29th Apr 2017 16:57
Turn iteration in the gunspec to 0. If that doesn't work check the entity properties in the editor window, it may be saved as 1 there.
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 30th Apr 2017 16:29
O.K. guys, been getting some glitches since i installed BI 10.5 so i uploaded my unfinished level to the google drive for testing on other computers. It's in the Levels/warehouse folder. Give me bug reports and solutions.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 30th Apr 2017 23:18 Edited at: 30th Apr 2017 23:24
@ seppgirty
Quote: "How are you guys doing on your levels?"

Great, my Level 4 is done, working on Level 5, trying out some ideas
Quote: " getting some glitches since i installed BI 10.5"

Boy, I don't know what could be causing your problems? Haven't had anything similar.
Double check all your settings/stuff, the obvious things that you might overlook?
The npc muzzleflash (white squares) has to be related somehow to the decals.
The ones I gave you, something is amiss....
Quote: "Give me bug reports and solutions"

Just downloaded it, will test shortly and get back to you

Edit: As soon as I started playing your level and received gunshot damaged, noticed
your "eye hud" (player shot damage" is set for a smaller screen res. I believe that's
what your problem might be. The player & NPC muzzleflash are ok for me
Level plays nice and fast. Double check your hud sizes
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 1st May 2017 03:36
Hmmm, the eye hud you say. i'll check that out as soon as i can. what size should it be? isn't it suposed to adjust automaticaly now? thanks for testing it.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 1st May 2017 10:56
@ seppgirty
Quote: " isn't it supposed to adjust automatically now"

I thought so? I haven't done a build with the new V10.5 so it may be a glitch?
I'll do a quick small build and see. In the mean time, your level was great
Loved the warehouse, the red contrast gives it a nice feel. I got lost several times
looking for the key ( i never found it, did you leave out of purpose? ) The build also ran
nice, smooth and fast. Averaged 45fps, never fell below 30.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
arrojar entidad y que explote
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2015
Location:
Posted: 1st May 2017 14:44
@seppgirty

This file dds is in size 1920x1080. That's the problem you have at your level, the eye hud is a very small size. To me the same thing happens when I switch to BI version 10.5, I had to change the size of almost all hud`s.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 1st May 2017 23:14 Edited at: 1st May 2017 23:23
@ Everyone Black Ice Mod Hud update from V7.0 on..

The old way may have worked for awhile, but may need to use new hud commands hudglobalx & hudglobaly ?

@arrojar entidad Your second hud on the right looks fantasic

@ seppgirty I opened your games "setuplevel.ini" and found this for the "eyehud"

What is "gdisplaywidth or gdisplayheight" ?
Mine are usually like this...
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 1st May 2017 23:44
Quote: ". I got lost several times
looking for the key ( i never found it, did you leave out of purpose?"


There is no key. I just changed the script so it wouldn't open.

Quote: "What is "gdisplaywidth or gdisplayheight" ?"


I have no idea. i never touched the script. just happened when i updatd to 10.5

Quote: "This file dds is in size 1920x1080. That's the problem you have at your level, the eye hud is a very small size. To me the same thing happens when I switch to BI version 10.5, I had to change the size of almost all hud`s."


I'll give them a try. thanks.

I'll take a look at the scripts.

gamer, lover, filmmaker
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 2nd May 2017 00:04
Where is the eyehud script located. I found the dds file but don't know where the script is located. never messed with it before.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 2nd May 2017 02:33
@ seppgirty
Quote: "Where is the eyehud script located"

Go to Languagebank\english\gamebank\ ***Name Of Your Saved Game Folder
(that is if you have saved it with a unique name when you built your game)
If not, then it's under the name "mygame" open that folder and you'll see "setuplevel.fpi
The second line of code with "hudreset" you'll see "hudimage=gamecore\huds\eyehud.tga
That's it...
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 2nd May 2017 13:51
Thanks ncmako. i'll check there. what i did for now was use arrojars eye hud and set that with the build game/ global script just to see if it fixed it. it did.

thanks for the help guys.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 6th May 2017 19:51
Just uploaded a new version of my level to google drive for you guys to try.

Added health packs
added save points
added music
Fade in title.
ect.......

for some reason i can only get the player's colt 45 to show the kapow. No other weapon and not the pawn's weapons.

Tell me if you find Eddie's hidden office. Once inside the office it will go to story screen.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 6th May 2017 21:08
@ ncmako
could you please share that snare drum? sound with us so we can all have it

How are you other guys coming along with your levels? Any screen shots to see?
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 6th May 2017 22:52
@ seppgirty
Quote: "uploaded a new version of my level to google drive for you guys to try"

Downloading now
Quote: " i can only get the player's colt 45 to show the kapow. No other weapon and not the pawn's weapons"

Open the characters .fpe file... Scroll down until your see

decal0 = Is The Muzzleflash for characters weapon
decal1 = Is the "blood/damage" effect for the character
I also attached my "red" decal folder (drop into your decal folder
and your set. As most characters use the "red" decal for the muzzleflash.
Let me know if you hit a snag

Level5 is going super great, will post screenshots tonight. Want to play your level first though
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 7th May 2017 14:37
Thanks for the help (again ) Glad to hear level 5 is going well. can't wait to see some pics. As soon as i get a chance i will work on the official player legs.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Mriganka
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 7th May 2017 15:43
@seppgirty Where do I find the key to Eddie's office?
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 7th May 2017 15:57
Quote: "@seppgirty Where do I find the key to Eddie's office?"


The locked door is not Eddies office. He has a secrete office. for now when you enter his office nothing happens. in the finished game when you enter his office it will play a video telling you about the next mission . Keep searching. there is some clues.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 7th May 2017 20:15
@ seppgirty Posted a few pics in the WIP. Also left some comments for you on Google drive.
Have a very interesting idea and want to pass it by you. See what you think.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 7th May 2017 23:01
Read your comments on google drive. Yes go for it. I just looked and the "Malone? model is in the junkyard level folder for you to add animations to. I have to do the Amber model for you. Let me know what animations for her. Love the screen pics.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Goodman84
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd May 2007
Location:
Posted: 9th May 2017 02:35
I'm not sure if it could be done. But if enough people are in it could be cool.
hey
DarkJames
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Aug 2009
Location:
Posted: 23rd May 2017 16:19
I would be down for it.

James
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 24th May 2017 01:05
Hi DarkJames,
Quote: "I would be down for it"
....sure thing That would be great!
Hey seppgirty, what Levels are available ???
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 24th May 2017 23:47
Quote: "Hey seppgirty, what Levels are available ???"


Well..... mrignaka is supposed to be doing the prison level and arrojar is supposed to be doing the hotel level. I haven't heard from either of them in a while. I need you two guys (if you are still following this post) to let us know if you are still involved. So hold on dark james until we find out what is going on.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Mriganka
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 25th May 2017 09:20 Edited at: 25th May 2017 09:21
@seppgirty I am doing the prison levels. But I currently have my End Semester exams, so I will update on my progress on or after June 2nd. I have already said it in the WIP board.

After the project I was thinking maybe something like the Purge can be made in FPSC. A campy and violent shooter filled with puns and whatnot.
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 26th May 2017 00:43
Quote: "@seppgirty I am doing the prison levels. But I currently have my End Semester exams, so I will update on my progress on or after June 2nd. I have already said it in the WIP board.
"


Good, so you are still in. just waiting for arrojar to report back...
gamer, lover, filmmaker
arrojar entidad y que explote
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2015
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2017 23:10
Hello!!! I do not think I can continue. I'm in a project of my own, studying CS courses and my work takes away a lot of time. The next week I go to google drive my progress in the level, so that they continue working. Anyway I can provide models or scripts, but developing the level takes me a long time.
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 27th May 2017 23:46
sorry to hear that arrojar. your level was looking great. Maybe dark james will do the hotel level. let me know if you are in dark james.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
arrojar entidad y que explote
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2015
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2017 00:50
No problem. Just on Tuesday i can upload my progress to google drive. For dark james to work on the same level.
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 28th May 2017 01:57
@ arrojar entidad Thank you for all your help arrojar, you rlevel was looking great. But things sometimes come up. Hope all goes well for you
@ seppgirty Well sepp, hopefully Dark James is still wanting to help out?
Also hows your new graphic card working out? Bet it makes fpsc scream
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 28th May 2017 14:17
Quote: "@ seppgirty Well sepp, hopefully Dark James is still wanting to help out?
Also hows your new graphic card working out? Bet it makes fpsc scream"


just sent darkjames a pm. hope he responds.

The new card does give it a kick.
gamer, lover, filmmaker

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-11-21 05:29:26
Your offset time is: 2019-11-21 05:29:26