Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Just an idea.

Author
Message
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 16th Dec 2017 18:22
@ Seppgirty Yes about the resolution, that's why I added extra background video files in the upload. I explained in the readme text.
It seems a higher resolution can still play good without "skipping" if I make it's screen-size smaller
Quote: "The pic in your attachment looks really good. I like it"

Ok, good. Wasn't sure about it ? In the mean time I was trying out other fonts just for experimenting and feed-back

Mriganka
Quote: " instead of using a video (AVI file) using a GIF file and playing a soundtrack will be better"

Yes, I remember "Acid Factory" game, it was really good for it's time. Ok, I see how he uses a GIF file.
Ok, I'll put together some examples and do some test runs
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Mr Love
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 16th Dec 2017 19:20
Ncmako, its kind of hard to see the menus here...
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 16th Dec 2017 21:06
Mr Love You mean the first pic ? yeah. I grabbed a screenie while video was playing.
Maybe I should take another shot ?
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mr Love
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 16th Dec 2017 23:26
You courld move the text in the options menu to the left of the gun. But then You maybe have to scale the text a little.. BTW sence it is DARK CITY, shourld You not use a darker picture, maybe a cool screenshot???
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 16th Dec 2017 23:37
@ncmako
o.k., the yellow menu screen. I like the version you posted first.

The load a saved game screen. I say get rid of the guns. That's just my opinion. You got a lot of really good ideas going here.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Mriganka
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 17th Dec 2017 03:53
I don't think moving the menus is necessary. Just have a black and stylized border behind them and they will be fine lol.
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 17th Dec 2017 13:31 Edited at: 17th Dec 2017 13:32
Mriganka
Quote: "Just have a black and stylized border behind them"

Yes, easy to do. Attached is a simple black load/save menu ( I found out hard way size HAS to be at least 600x350 or nothing fits ??? I guess it's hard coded)

@ seppgirty
Quote: " I say get rid of the guns"

Ok, guns are out But I wanted to try a "gun" pointer What do you think ??? ( in screenie)
If the gun is still too much, how about maybe just a "Bullet" as a pointer ?
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 17th Dec 2017 15:15
Got to say that i love the animated menu still and these two screens you did. A lot of POP and WOW in them. For the cursor.... Either a simple bullet or an octopus.
gamer, lover, filmmaker

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 17th Dec 2017 17:31
@ Seppgirty They are not animated menu's, just a video background playing. I tried making an animated "Gif" like background, but searching thru past postings it seems not possible
The commands are there, it just wasn't ever implemented ? Those two screen grabs just happened while the background video was playing....
Look at my posting above and you'll see I removed the two pistols & the Dark City pic from the Save/Load menu. The pistol in those pics is the mouse cursor.
Quote: " Either a simple bullet or an octopus"

Easily done
I have attached the "fonts" I used in the menu above.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 17th Dec 2017 17:42
Quote: " Seppgirty They are not animated menu's, just a video background playing"

Well i like the video back ground.
Quote: " Those two screen grabs just happened while the background video was playing"

LOL, my mistake...... then, ilike the fonts from those screen shots i guess.

gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 17th Dec 2017 18:10
@ Seppgirty Ok, two more quick screenies. One is a "bullet" pointer, the other is an Octopus.....
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 17th Dec 2017 18:33 Edited at: 17th Dec 2017 18:39
Quote: "@ Seppgirty Ok, two more quick screenies. One is a "bullet" pointer, the other is an Octopus....."

hmmm.... this is a tough call.... The octopus is clever but i do like the bullet. Maybe an octopus like this.
gamer, lover, filmmaker

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 17th Dec 2017 19:12 Edited at: 17th Dec 2017 19:25
Seppgirty
Quote: " Maybe an octopus like this"

We can use anything you like, how do we make that one feel like a"pointer" ? I kinda have figured out that the top-left corner of the
"pointer" picture is what the engine uses as a pointer location. That's why I angled the previous pointer pics to point toward the top-left.

edit: trying something, just had a thought...
Ok, I angled the Octopus a little. I like the bright white of the image. Makes it easy to see ???
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 17th Dec 2017 21:20
I like it. What do you guys think?
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Mr Love
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 17th Dec 2017 21:27
That looks good nc, but I think a black/brown woodboard in the background with this text and more bulletholes wourld make it!
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 17th Dec 2017 21:28 Edited at: 17th Dec 2017 21:45
@ Mr Love The background is a video playing..... I set the button see thru so one can still the video.
@ Seppgirty
Quote: "What do you guys think?"

Sure thing, we'll use this one than
Going back to the "splash" video before game starts....you still want to do one ?
I figured out a way to have it only play once (first time a user plays game) than skips it.

Quick Vid showing the Octopus pointer in action...
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mriganka
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 18th Dec 2017 05:09
As for the pointer, I would recommend something that is useful for actual pointing lol. Like a red pointer head with an octopus attached to the tail of the pointer. It would be as meta, but also very easy to use.
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 18th Dec 2017 22:34
Quote: "Going back to the "splash" video before game starts....you still want to do one ?
I figured out a way to have it only play once (first time a user plays game) than skips it.
"

You mean one that says"A TGC COMMUNITY GAME" Then sure. Also, video looks good.

Quote: "As for the pointer, I would recommend something that is useful for actual pointing lol. Like a red pointer head with an octopus attached to the tail of the pointer. It would be as meta, but also very easy to use."

Would you like to make one?
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 19th Dec 2017 01:52
@ seppgirty
Quote: "You mean one that says"A TGC COMMUNITY GAME"

No no, we were thinking & talking about having a "splash" video before game chapters begin.
About 2-3 months ago. A quick vid 5-10 sec's. I made a couple over the top dramatic, remember ?
Anyway I made a simple very small quick into splash. Less than 500k. Made a simple script so video ONLY plays
ONCE when game first time is started, then it wont play again ever.
Splash intro for chapter 4...

My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 22nd Dec 2017 00:07
Sorry, Been super busy lately. Yeah, that video looks cool. Let's go for it.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 22nd Dec 2017 00:16
@ Seppgirty There you are, yeh I'm a little busy also with the holidays.
Quote: "Yeah, that video looks cool. Let's go for it"

You want a separate for for each chapter ? Also, do you want to play it only once, first time game is played then removed?
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mr Love
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 22nd Dec 2017 01:21 Edited at: 22nd Dec 2017 01:34
ncmako, there is no question that You are good at what You are doing, and thats why You have to be a little bit more bossy Yourself. BTW that octopus pointer is a bit weird, is it the tentacle that points or is it the head? The bullet was better in My opinion...
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 23rd Dec 2017 00:03
Quote: "You want a separate for for each chapter"

Sure thing boss.
Quote: " Also, do you want to play it only once, first time game is played then removed?"

Sure, i think that would be cool.
Quote: " BTW that octopus pointer is a bit weird, is it the tentacle that points or is it the head? The bullet was better in My opinion..."

Mike or mriganka can change it if they want. I just made a suggestion.

Quote: "Seppgirty There you are, yeh I'm a little busy also with the holidays."

Everybody been taking me out to the bar after work lately.

@ncmako
sent you an email also.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 23rd Dec 2017 00:34
@ Seppgirty
Quote: "Sure thing boss"

Lol...No way sepp, this is your game!!! You make the final decision's

No I kinda like the "Octopus" now, it fits the game nicely. After all the main characters name is "Eddie the Octopus"
Even if it's dorky to some, this is suppose to be a campy, off the wall, fun game. So what better than an Octopus pointer...Yeah !
Quote: "Everybody been taking me out to the bar after work lately"

Take me with you, I need a break
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Stealth Sin
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Nov 2013
Location:
Posted: 25th Dec 2017 01:44
I am dearly sorry for responding to this thread superbly late... is their still room for one more developer?
Anthony Gonzales
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 25th Dec 2017 03:09
Quote: "I am dearly sorry for responding to this thread superbly late... is their still room for one more developer?"

Sorry buddy, but we are getting to the end of development.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 25th Dec 2017 12:56
Merry Christmas Everyone Made it alive... I'm exhausted
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 25th Dec 2017 14:45
Quote: "Merry Christmas Everyone Made it alive... I'm exhausted "

Glad to hear that. Merry Christmas to you guys as well.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 30th Dec 2017 16:38 Edited at: 30th Dec 2017 16:50
@ ncmako.
O.K. several questions.
Do we have to add the "back ground" video in each of our level builds or will it play through the (level joining program) that was made for us?
Did you share the font that you wanted to use yet?
Please share wich ever mouse pointer you guys want to use.

Wich folder do i put the fonts in? Do i do it before or after i build the level?
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 30th Dec 2017 20:45
@ Seppgirty
Quote: "or will it play through the (level joining program) that was made for us?"

This would be for when the "menu" display's correct ? Then yes, needs to be in each build. But...I haven't tried
what you mentioned yet There could be a chance ( big chance ) it would work from a central folder outside our builds ???
I will test some right now, if it works I'll let you know.
Quote: "Please share wich ever mouse pointer you guys want to use"

I'm using the Octopus... It's kinda stuck ( no pun intended ) to me now
Quote: "Wich folder do i put the fonts in?"

I'm lost ??? what/which fonts. Do you mean for any "text hud's" (fpgcraw text) ???
If so you don't need to add any fonts to the build. It uses the font listed/called for in the script, if the player
does not have that particular font, the the default "Arial" font is used.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 30th Dec 2017 21:10
Quote: "I'm lost ??? what/which fonts. Do you mean "

You called the download "MENU FONTS" Posted towards the top of this page. The load game, Title.... ect....... words

Quote: "I'm using the Octopus... It's kinda stuck ( no pun intended ) to me now "

Please post it then.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 30th Dec 2017 22:21 Edited at: 30th Dec 2017 23:37
@Seppgirty Ah yes, keep on me. I tend to forget things. Just uploaded both the menu font images & a new game with extra background video and stuff.

In google drive under "Other" folder
*** Note: forgot to mention, if you do download the built game, open the setup.ini and change "splash=1 to =0.
That way you can see how the splash (intro) video play just once. After closing game you see that "splash=0 change to splash=1
It wont play again.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 31st Dec 2017 19:48
@ seppgirty Ok, I have attached a full set of images that I'll be using for chapter 4's menu.
I also included the level ,fpi scripts ( the title, loading, setup..ect) I think I'm going with a simple clean
background image for the loading pages, and a loading bar instead of the "bullet" bar, what do you think ?
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Mriganka
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 1st Jan 2018 14:27
@ncmako Eddie's head should be a little lower. So that the bullet hits the bullseye XD (with the bullet lol)

I really like the 3rd pointer. The octopus(sy) is really cool.
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 2nd Jan 2018 00:45
Mriganka
Quote: "Eddie's head should be a little lower. So that the bullet hits the bullseye"

Yep, no problem, will do. If you guys like that "loading" page setup ??? If it's too much we can go with a simple "loader" type bar?
And yes, I like the Octopus pointer, It fits nicely in the game.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 3rd Jan 2018 22:49
I like the loading bar with the bullet. Makes me laugh.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 4th Jan 2018 00:00
@ seppgirty
Quote: "I like the loading bar with the bullet"

Ok, you got it. I'll make a nice clean one right now and upload it. Get the head aligned
with the bullet too
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 5th Jan 2018 11:00
@ seppgirty I uploaded to G Drive ( other folder) a background and one loading bar.
I did a couple final builds, as always there are a few glitches ? Mostly things not being carried over ( easy fix)
The loading bar alignment is a little tricky, but got it. The menu right now is being a pain.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 6th Jan 2018 16:27
@ncmako
O.k. buddy, we are at the point where i get confused and start to shy away from things. If you could please help me with where to put things like...
In what folders do i put the loading bar and back ground pics and how to make them work in game.

Where to put those new game..ect...fonts

Do i set up the "TITLE" animation video in the set up ini after i compile the level.

Thanks for your patients guys.......
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 6th Jan 2018 19:06
@ Seppgirty
Quote: "Where to put those new game..ect...fonts"

Don't worry, I'm confused too Lol...no really, I've done about 4-5 builds last night and this morning
trying to work out little bugs & things that don't get copied over. I have worked out the menu and video's
so they now work flawless.
I will put together some pics & layout's and upload it to GDrive with very easy to follow guide. Once it's all in place
you will see it all makes sense.

In the meantime go to your "preference & build" menu ( you know under files, top left) and make your final adjustments.
Under the "Build Game\Game Project Settings (first tab) I have be giving my "game project filename" click "New" an have
been using just Chapter4 & Chapter5 for my builds (kept it simple) Under "Level Settings" I kept having problems getting the "Loading Page"
to highlight properly so I could edit it ( for the bullet loading bar) if you test it a bit you'll see what I mean, once you got it, it goes smooth
and you can do a "preview" and make needed adjustments.

My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 8th Jan 2018 10:22
@ Seppgirty Ok, I uploaded my build Chapter4 to G-Drive under the Levels folder. Then under the "Other"
folder I added a file called "Dark City game folders setup" if you open that you'll see the file structure
laid out. Hopefully you can just drop in the files, point the titlepage.fpi & levelsetup.fpi..ect to new images
and all is done?
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 8th Jan 2018 23:34
Oh,MY GOD.......... That level is crazy................. Beyond well done.............You are the man......................

Will chew through your files you left for me. I'll figure it out.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Mriganka
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 9th Jan 2018 07:06 Edited at: 9th Jan 2018 07:50
Man. That level was an acid trip XD

The level of crazyness is almost unmatched in FPSC lol

Btw, here are some of my suggestions regarding the level -

1. Sometimes you can see the edge of the map (the jumpring from the window part of the map) or the skybox.. I can understand it as a reference (probably?), but it may not fare well for the casual player.

2. There are some flickering textures and awkwardly positioned entities.

3. The dock workers roam around along with the forklifts. The forklifts could be made static.

4. Things that can be used to climb over walls should be re positioned imo (if it leads outside the map)

5. Improved enemy spawning (so that they don't spawn in front of the player (perhaps using inview=1 in their scripts?)

The above may vary from minor to noticeable. I posted because some of the stuff is noticeable to me.

@everyone

I have written my own gunspecs for the stock guns with better sound effects and feel. We could use them if you all want.

@ncmako

Can the cut-scene at the end be hi-res?
Mriganka
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 9th Jan 2018 07:06 Edited at: 9th Jan 2018 07:49
(Spam)
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 9th Jan 2018 10:55
@ Seppgirty Thanks, finishing Level 5 now ( cut-scene ) I do need a dialog for that.
If you have any problems, let me know right away. I know the file structure can be frustrating.

@ Mriganka Yeah, the map edges kinda happens when your not aware.
The flickering textures ? I don't recall them ?
Do you think the forklifts would be better off static? Have more workers walking around?
I'll look again for walls where player can climb & fall off map, your right on that

Quote: "Can the cut-scene at the end be hi-res"

Absolutely, I made several copies of each video and used the ones that seemed to playback
the best, that usually means smaller sizes. .avi's do have much better quality that .wmv
but the trade-off is a much larger file. My finial build was around 400megs (170megs compressed)
was much bigger before
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mriganka
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 9th Jan 2018 12:45
The flickering texture was after you get to the other side of the fence and then you see it. I will be posting pics of them shortly.
Mriganka
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 9th Jan 2018 13:45
Here are the screenshots.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 9th Jan 2018 14:21
@ Mriganka Thank you for the pics, makes it easier to find. Yes, I will try and clean these up. Some might just need a little adjustment
other's may be more of a problem to fix than just to leave alone.
But...I will fix seeing over the top of structures I kinda knew those were around. There are easy to fix.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 10th Jan 2018 00:01
Quote: "Do you think the forklifts would be better off static?"

No, Keep them moving around. Gives the scene life.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 10th Jan 2018 00:06
Quote: "No, Keep them moving around. Gives the scene life"

Ok, will do. I did manage to hunt down the "flickering" textures (usually when two different kind of segments join at right angles)
Easy fix and a few others things. No major changes made
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-10-15 18:08:40
Your offset time is: 2018-10-15 18:08:40