Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / all the textures in the sky box black

Author
Message
pavelman
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Apr 2013
Location: Russia SPb
Posted: 16th Feb 2017 07:26
All the textures in the sky box black.
why is that?
Even began to disappear from the file HELP darkbasicpro.
Sorry for my bad english.
Green Gandalf
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Location: Cornwall UK
Posted: 16th Feb 2017 11:42
Which textures? Which sky box? What do you mean? Code? Media?


Powered by Free Banners
pavelman
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Apr 2013
Location: Russia SPb
Posted: 16th Feb 2017 14:08 Edited at: 16th Feb 2017 14:16
+ Code Snippet

everything was normal again.
but then suddenly there it started.
either a black screen or black model of the object.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
WickedX
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2009
Location: A Mile High
Posted: 16th Feb 2017 16:44 Edited at: 16th Feb 2017 16:44
IDK why this is even in your code. You have named your image space.bmp.bmp yet try to load it as space.bmp.

+ Code Snippet
Green Gandalf
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Location: Cornwall UK
Posted: 16th Feb 2017 18:00 Edited at: 16th Feb 2017 18:21
Yes, that doesn't help. Also, there is no mention of the skybox in your code - so why would you expect to see it?

Edit I tried adding your sky box to the code but that just showed up black. I then checked the skybox object and the image filenames are wrong there as well. Your zip file has .dds files whereas the object expects .bmp images. I changed all those to .dds and your skybox now shows up. I've attached the revised code for the skybox as "ss2.x". Here's the test code I used:

+ Code Snippet

Attachments

Login to view attachments
pavelman
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Apr 2013
Location: Russia SPb
Posted: 16th Feb 2017 18:19 Edited at: 16th Feb 2017 18:32
Thank you for helping to find my mistake.
all corrected. Now everything is working.
Green Gandalf
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Location: Cornwall UK
Posted: 16th Feb 2017 18:22
pavelman
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Apr 2013
Location: Russia SPb
Posted: 11th Mar 2017 07:13 Edited at: 12th Mar 2017 07:12
demoscene
https://youtu.be/-qNPyV2dyOw - video 1
https://youtu.be/0Uh4S5KqIG8 - video 2
Why can not I upload a demo or a photo?
smerf
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2005
Location: nm usa
Posted: 12th Mar 2017 06:07
game mechanics look amazing exactly why I started learning db to make a game just like that. pavelman your going to have to provide some source code and some media in order for anyone to help you you can attach a zip or rar file to a post. if ur skybox has disappeared perhaps there is a get image being called at the wrong time object ambient could be set wrong culling could be set wrong perhaps your view range is to close who knows to be honest without something to look at
A child's dream never dies.





pavelman
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Apr 2013
Location: Russia SPb
Posted: 12th Mar 2017 07:39 Edited at: 12th Mar 2017 07:46
screenshot 2 versions of the game.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
smerf
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2005
Location: nm usa
Posted: 15th Mar 2017 02:49 Edited at: 15th Mar 2017 03:07
had this picture laying around I made for a space game ur free to use it it u want gravelman it was set up to be a character selection screen for spaceships on a rotating platform and the information tabs would provide class and race information


A child's dream never dies.





Attachments

Login to view attachments
pavelman
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Apr 2013
Location: Russia SPb
Posted: 15th Mar 2017 13:14
How to fix this error with a black sky box
Everything that was bought along with the dark black.
In a dark browser they are visible, but the program is not.
Me for playing in free space, the static sky will do.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
smerf
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2005
Location: nm usa
Posted: 16th Mar 2017 05:21
skybox works perfectly for me had to scale it to 20,000 to cover my terrain 50,50,50 in your code might make it to small to see [img]sky.png[/img]
A child's dream never dies.





Attachments

Login to view attachments
pavelman
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Apr 2013
Location: Russia SPb
Posted: 16th Mar 2017 05:36 Edited at: 16th Mar 2017 16:35
code for skybox
https://youtu.be/sRuEInw9M0Y
+ Code Snippet

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2017-10-20 18:48:55
Your offset time is: 2017-10-20 18:48:55