Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Android / Problem getting started with Tier 2 development for Android platforms

Author
Message
Eqqman
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jul 2015
Location:
Posted: 25th Feb 2017 17:28
Hello-

Last year I was doing Tier 1 AppGameKit development and now wish to migrate to Tier 2. I have been following the posted guide here:

https://www.appgamekit.com/documentation/guides/25_android.htm

...so all required downloads are the latest versions as of 24/Feb/2017, and I am using Windows 7.

This bullet point reads:
"Run the downloaded file, it should look something like android-ndk-rc11b-windows-x64.exe. It should extract somes [sic] files to a new folder in the same location as the downloaded file."
During the extraction process, I received an error as it complained that a path name was too long on exactly one of the files (this I was able to fix by forcing an extraction to C:\).

This bullet point reads:
"Now switch to the SDK Tools tab and tick Android Support Library, Google Play Services, Google Play APK Expansion Library, Google Play Billing Library, Google Play Licensing Library, and Google USB driver, then click OK and let it install."
However, `Android Support Library` was not one of the available options.

This bullet point reads:
"Come back out of the Configure option and choose Open an existing Android Studio Project, browse to your AppGameKit Tier 2 folder, then apps, select the template_android_google folder and click ok."
When I did this, the icon for the template folder changed from a file folder to a green circle, but no project loaded. Instead, after I select this folder and pick `ok`, I just end up back at the main window where you are asked to pick a project, etc.

This bullet point reads:
"Change the line that starts set NDKBUILDCMD= to point to your NDK location, for example set NDKBUILDCMD="C:\AndroidDev\android-ndk-r10e\ndk-build", save this file and close it, then double click it to run the NDK compile process for this project."
This file would not execute without choosing to `Run As Administrator` (I also could not edit it with without changing file permissions, which the tutorial omits to mention). When it does run, I receive these errors:
`Android NDK: Could not find application project directory!`
`Android NDK: Please define the NDK_PROJECT_PATH variable to point to it`

At this point I am unable to try to proceed any farther through the Tier 2 guide. Any help on resolving these issues would be appreciated.
Goo Goo G\'Joob!
Eqqman
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jul 2015
Location:
Posted: 26th Feb 2017 10:26
Installed Linux Mint so I could do a dual-boot and try the same process under Linux. My problem here is that I don't know how to correctly edit the `jniCompile.txt` file so it will run under Linux. In Android Studio, the template project will load but it doesn't compile (possibly related to the fact that the `jniCompile` batch file hasn't been run). Doing a build I get this error:

I've gone into the AndroidManifest.xml file and changed the android:minSdkVersion="10" property to "14" but I get the same error.
Goo Goo G\'Joob!
Jack
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 27th Feb 2017 18:16 Edited at: 27th Feb 2017 18:27
The setup of the working enviroment is very tricky in Android Studio, I know what you are talking about.


The JniCompile.bat is a batch script designed to run the NDK compiler with the path to your current project. It will only work on windows systems.
You can port this batch script, if you translate each line inside it to the corresponding linux shell command. And save it as a linux/ mac shell-script.


Please Post your Java, Android Studio, NDK versions, so we could start helping you. Also what Version of AppGameKit do you use for Tier2?

My biggest hint was to use the exact versions mentioned in the Guide, everything else gave me errors like missing libs.
If you change PATH variables in your system, be sure to restart your computer before you try them out.
The Guide should be a very stable installation instruction, altough a friend of mine just installed Android Studio, and the Java/NDK installation was done by Android Studio itself, then he could compile Tier2 without any seperate installation.

Once we got this to work, we take a look at the gradle, Android.mk and Application.mk and Manifest.xml files.

[/url]
Eqqman
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jul 2015
Location:
Posted: 10th Mar 2017 05:42
Quote: "You can port this batch script, if you translate each line inside it to the corresponding linux shell command. And save it as a linux/ mac shell-script."

I'm a Linux neophyte and have no clue how this would be done.

Quote: "Please Post your Java, Android Studio, NDK versions, so we could start helping you. Also what Version of AppGameKit do you use for Tier2?"

Everything was the latest version as of Feb. 26th:
android-studio-ide-145.3537739-linux.zip
android-ndk-r13b-linux-x86_64.zip
jdk-8u121-linux-x64.tar.gz
AppGameKit-V2017.02.28-Linux.7z
Goo Goo G\'Joob!
Parry
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 10th Mar 2017 07:53 Edited at: 19th Mar 2017 23:24
Quote: "I've gone into the AndroidManifest.xml file and changed the android:minSdkVersion="10" property to "14" but I get the same error."


you also need to update a build.gradle file. There are more then one build.gradle that will need to be edited. one of them is in the AGK2Template directory.
I believe the other one might be in the facebook folder.

Eqqman
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jul 2015
Location:
Posted: 10th Mar 2017 18:54
Quote: "you also need to update a build.gradle file. There are more then one. The one you want is in the AGK2Template directory."

Thanks! I did get that to work for the Windows development, but Android Studio would not recognize my tablet as a debugging device (it does in Linux) even though I have the USB drivers loaded for it and I can read/write to the internal storage, etc. (and the "enable USB debugging" and allowing APKs from anywhere are enabled). I would prefer to work under Linux if possible as I'm trying to get off Windows.
Goo Goo G\'Joob!
Parry
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 13th Mar 2017 20:49
Quote: "Android Studio would not recognize my tablet as a debugging device (it does in Linux) even though I have the USB drivers loaded "


I had a similar issue with my Razer Forge TV android device. This may not help but this is what I did to fixed it.

Make sure your device has debugging turned on and check to see if the device shows up in the Windows Device Manager. My device showed up under Universal Serial Bus devices/Android

I had to change the driver from USB Device to USB Composite Device to make it work. Good luck.

Eqqman
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jul 2015
Location:
Posted: 16th Mar 2017 00:25
Quote: "I had to change the driver from USB Device to USB Composite Device to make it work. Good luck."

That wasn't one of the options for me, but I did see that "ADB" was showing up as an unknown device. Installing the ASUS PC Link utility apparently took care of the drivers as things worked after that (although I am still hoping to get things running under Linux instead).
Goo Goo G\'Joob!
salkawari
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Apr 2017
Location:
Posted: 5th May 2017 08:51
Hi,

go into the android studio and set the android sdk to the correct directory. Then it worked for me.

Let me know if you can't find what I mean.

Cheers,

Sal
noname34
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2015
Location:
Posted: 14th May 2017 13:55 Edited at: 14th May 2017 14:45
My PC
AppGameKit 2017.04.24 (Linux)
Linux Mint 18.1 Serena
Linux desenvolvimento 4.4.0-71-generic #92-Ubuntu SMP Fri Mar 24 12:59:01 UTC 2017 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
IDE --> Android Studio 2.3.1
SDK Platform-Tools-> 25.0.5
SDK Tools-> 26.0.2
NDK -> 14.1.3816874

My Cellphone
Model ->Lenovo A6020l36
Android -> 5.1.1
CPU-> 8 Core 1.5GHz
RAM->2GB
ROM->16GB

My Problem
On Tier1 the function ShowImageCaptureScreen works.


On Tier 2, the same example does not works. Compile, install APK and running, but stop and does not shows camera dialog.


Please, I need help.
Alex Deef
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2014
Location: eastern europe
Posted: 2nd Jun 2017 10:46
The setup of the working enviroment is very tricky in Android Studio, I know what you are talking about.
http://www.pishop.de/Cialis.html
http://www.achetermed.fr/Levitra.html

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-06-24 14:01:04
Your offset time is: 2018-06-24 14:01:04