Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Just wondering about life as a coder.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi all. I dont know where to put up this topic. I looking for a Offtopic Discussion but look like there isnt one.

Is there any thread that shows votes/statistic whether u r full time coder or hobbyist. Do u make any money from making game/tools?

Is there any of u that make off a living by making game. Solo or group? Care to share?

Thanks.
Phaelax
DBPro Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Feb 2017 15:44
I didn't do games, but I was a jsp developer. It's not as much fun as a hobbyist. Your opinions no longer matter. You get told to write a specific chunk of code, you may have no idea what it's used for or how. Get used to it. It becomes a game of here's what we want we don't need any further insight. Sure not all programming jobs are that way, but in my experience personal creativity no longer becomes a part of coding.

"I like offending people, because I think people who get offended should be offended." - Linus Torvalds
The Zoq2
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Feb 2017 16:58
That doesn't sound like a lot of fun. Do you have that experience with many jobs?

As for myself, I am currently studying computer science and I do a lot of programming on the side as a hobby. I have had a couple of smaller programming summer jobs and I was a teachers assistant in a programming course at uni.

None of the jobs i've had have been game related however.
Say ONE stupid thing and it ends up as a forum signature forever. - Neuro Fuzzy
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Feb 2017 17:07