Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Framerate drop after placing a sprite.

Author
Message
Madcow02
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Jan 2016
Location: Under My Skin
Posted: 25th Mar 2017 09:49 Edited at: 25th Mar 2017 09:50
Hello, I've a really annoying problem with the engine. For some reason, when I put an animated sprite anywhere on my map, my framerate drops from 60 to 35 !
I don't know why this happen, it shouldn't as it never occured to me before that (if you're asking, my test map is a 3x3 square room with 8 static entities and 4 lightmaps).

I've tried to change it's scripts and lower the sprite's resolution, without effect.

Any advice about how to fix that inconvenience ?

(Screenshot attached)


Thank you !

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Mr Love
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 25th Mar 2017 22:32
I can see that You are using an old version of Black Ice Mod, and not the latest beta 18 either... What is Your specs?
Madcow02
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Jan 2016
Location: Under My Skin
Posted: 25th Mar 2017 22:57 Edited at: 25th Mar 2017 22:57
My specs (yes, that is a fairly old laptop)

Core 2 Duo ~2.1 GHZ
4GB RAM
GeForce 220M 2GB

I don't know if it is somehow related to my specs, I've always used 1.20.17 in conjunction with BIM 9.1 and everything have always worked like a charm.
Madcow02
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Jan 2016
Location: Under My Skin
Posted: 26th Mar 2017 02:00
Update : using some of my custom dynamic entities also causes that fps drop.
Mr Love
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 26th Mar 2017 21:48
Your specs are ok, so thats not the issue... Why dont You save the "files" folder and make a clean reinstall? (And if thats not working it shourld be an BI issue!)

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-11-15 19:50:31
Your offset time is: 2018-11-15 19:50:31