Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Retrieving current animation index? Tier 1

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello! This is my first time posting here.

Is there a command in Tier 1 to retrieve the index (and/or name) of an object's currently playing animation? Or is this something I'll just have to keep track of manually? Apologies if I've missed something obvious. A forum search didn't reveal anything and I didn't see any commands in the documentation that do this.

Thanks!

-h
29 games
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th May 2017 14:37
Welcome to the forums.

I think the ObjectIsAnimating command is what you're after. This will return a 1 if the object is currently playing an animation.
Hover Car Race Challenge! - available now on Google Play
Invaders of the 29th Dimension - available now on Google Play
Find me on indieDB
hendron
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi 29 games, thanks for the reply! I'm actually wanting to get the index (or name) of the animation that is currently playing. Something like:

if GetObjectPlayingAnimation(obj) = 2 (or "AnimationName")
do stuff
end if

I'm working on some code to link triggers to animation times, but I only want a trigger to fire if the animation it is linked to is playing. I'm guessing I'll just need to keep track of this manually (or re-think my logic a bit). I was just wondering if there was some built in way that I was missing somehow.

-h
AjiMundi
Years of Service
User Offline
If you mean 2D sprite animation, there is this command: https://www.appgamekit.com/documentation/Reference/Sprite/GetSpriteCurrentFrame.htm
hendron
Years of Service
User Offline