Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Bug hunting help (warning beginner code)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Just want to apologize in advance to anyone taking the time to look at this snippet. I'm still learning and havent work out arrays and functions well enough to do this any easier yet.

I have been working on a game for my children to help with coin counting. Everything seems to work fine but sometimes the right answer triggers a wrong answer.

Again, its plum full or redundancies and quite volumnus. I am totally open to criticism, and hope soon to be able to recreate this program with 100 lines or less =)

I just can't figure out why I am getting wrong answers when the input value is correct.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Vladimuffin
Years of Service
User Offline
Forgot the quarter

Attachments

Login to view attachments
smallg
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Jul 2017 22:42 Edited at: 15th Jul 2017 22:42
hmm well i'm not sure about american currency so assuming the cheat answers are correct try it like this

but this means you need to insert the 0 for values such as .70 etc
life\'s one big game
spec= 2.6ghz, 1gb ram, 512mb gpu, directx 9.0c, dbpro and classic
Vladimuffin
Years of Service
User Offline
Thank you for the feedback. I will give that a try right now. That also makes me wonder if 0.01 and .01 would be considered equal or not depending on the call.

The bizarre part about it is that it seems completely random whether or not it will work for a correct answer.

I even wrote down all the inputs that caused the bug, thinking I could find a pattern, and I dont see one.
Vladimuffin
Years of Service
User Offline