Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Compter programming help with preparation.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Aug 2017 01:11
Hi everyone.

I am a warehouse machinist who does gamemaking as a hobby. I have no formal training just reading guides and youtube and anything else I can find on the internet.

I have been on gamemaker studio for 5 or 6 years and enjoyed it but it seems that due to development of it stopping, it may be left behind in the future.

Gamemakers layout and format made it a little easier to organise and work with than agk. As such, i am having troubles staying organised and developing processes.

My question is, how do you organise work before beginning. Do you use flow charts? Or any other format or program to help create a flow. Is there a book i can buy, or a course I can do to teach me these secrets?

Thank you for reading and I look forward to you replies.

Nick
Dybing
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Aug 2017 01:52 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2017 01:57
I'd hazard to guess that everyone got their own process ranging from "seat of pants" improvised to "t's crossed and i's dotted" pre-planned.

I think best visually, so I sketch out how screens are supposed to look like - and how data is supposed to flow. From there on in, I set up the skeleton of how the app is organized, and flesh it out as I proceed. So plenty of empty functions in the start, with some comments on what it is supposed to do and perhaps a little print() just to notify that it is visited during run-time.

I also tend to spread my code over several files - where each have a certain responsibility. For instance:

- main : The initial setup and boilerplate stuff