Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / [BIM 10.5] Dynamic Light

Author
Message
xlghostlx
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Dec 2012
Location:
Posted: 12th Aug 2017 17:17 Edited at: 12th Aug 2017 17:18
Hi guys, i know that i can show up 9 dynamic light per level with new graphic cards (i own a gtx 770) but every time i can't have more than 2 or 3 (depend on how many light are near) cause i get this weird effect:

As you can see by editor, i've placed 3 dynamic light (only these 3 in the level) but when i enter in game i can show up only 2 by my player camera...



if i move a bit right or a bit left i can render the left or the right but not all 3 at the same times.. why???

uzi idiot
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2009
Location: Who Knows?
Posted: 12th Aug 2017 17:36
The segment_spec_norm shaders in nomad mod only support 2 dynamic lights.
This means that only 2 dynamic lights can be seen at once on segments using that shader.
If something compiles on the first try. Something is terribly wrong.
xlghostlx
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Dec 2012
Location:
Posted: 12th Aug 2017 17:44
Ah finally i understand, so your PBS work better?
uzi idiot
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2009
Location: Who Knows?
Posted: 12th Aug 2017 18:03
Yeah, I corrected the method that the shaders used. Mine can render 4 dynamic lights + 1 loving light and a muzzleflash. Mine also have proper specular and normal mapping with every light.
The stock shaders use a single instance CalcLighting to try and render all of the lights at once, the proper way is to use multiple instances of CalcLighting rendering a single light each.
If something compiles on the first try. Something is terribly wrong.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
xlghostlx
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Dec 2012
Location:
Posted: 12th Aug 2017 18:11 Edited at: 12th Aug 2017 18:56
Noticed, just one last info why in the PBR Stock (or i've to use the PBS 3.0??) i got this: im looking everywhere but cannot find the error:
uzi idiot
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2009
Location: Who Knows?
Posted: 12th Aug 2017 23:30
Yeah the doors are a bit weird because I need 2 sets of textures for the static frame and the dynamic door. I might fix them soon.
If something compiles on the first try. Something is terribly wrong.
ncmako
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 13th Aug 2017 01:39
@ uzi idiot So your saying we can have up to 4 dynamic lights that will light up at once with your shaders ?
I need to play more with these.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
xlghostlx
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Dec 2012
Location:
Posted: 13th Aug 2017 05:51
@uzi idiot ah well ill try to fix alone, but if u fix them before me, share it

@ncmako yes this is a great idea im trying to make the first level with only stock assetts and i want to have the Best shader armony..
uzi idiot
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2009
Location: Who Knows?
Posted: 13th Aug 2017 21:28
I've fixed the doors.
Now I'm just updating the shaders to allow the user to control the strength of the lightmap reflections.
If something compiles on the first try. Something is terribly wrong.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
xlghostlx
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Dec 2012
Location:
Posted: 13th Aug 2017 21:42
Holy this is awesome
uzi idiot
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2009
Location: Who Knows?
Posted: 13th Aug 2017 23:24
Here's the updated version
https://forum.thegamecreators.com/thread/219208#msg2607395
If something compiles on the first try. Something is terribly wrong.
xlghostlx
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Dec 2012
Location:
Posted: 14th Aug 2017 08:14
Ok now u have to share your setup.ini with me xD
uzi idiot
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2009
Location: Who Knows?
Posted: 14th Aug 2017 10:14
I'm pretty sure it's not anything special. The only important thing is lightmaptexsize=1024
+ Code Snippet
If something compiles on the first try. Something is terribly wrong.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2017-08-19 02:50:08
Your offset time is: 2017-08-19 02:50:08