Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / Tank Killer

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Dec 2003 19:39
I am almost done the programing of my game but I still need to find a way to make some basic AI. Right now all i can do is shoot the enemy tank which just sits there. I am looking for it to shoot back and move around. I have no knowledge of programing AI. The only thing i can think of is having the ai check to see where i am then move towards me and when in range to shoot. Is this the best way or is there somthing that i am not thinking of? any help would be appreciated. The graphics are crude but i'll revamp them when the coding is done. Its a clone of the game combat. well the tank part of it.

pic 1

pic 2

On target, On time!
ReD_eYe
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Dec 2003 19:44
thats lookin like a good game! the way you've suggested is quite a simple way of doing it, but you can build on that...
maybe the enemy could run away from you when its health is low?
maybe it could learn to use cover to protect itself?
the more complex the game, the more indepth ai you are able to use, just adding powerups or weapons that can be collected adds a whole new dimension

you'll also have to make sure it doesn't go through those barriers you've got there, as that wouldn't look right

GO TO THE ETERNAL DESTINY FORUMS!!! http://forums.eternaldestinyonline.com
Do it now!!!
outSync
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm working on a similiar tank style game (though the graphics aren't near as good right now) and I've got everything pretty much set except for the AI.