Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Colision Camera?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline

Any suggestions for a camera that follows the player in the third person to collide with the terrain and other objects?
janbo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Sep 2017 21:16 Edited at: 2nd Sep 2017 21:16
Ah I saw your thread in the showcase section.
You could cast a ray from the player to the camera direction and get the length from the ray contact.
Then you set the new camera position to the ray contact position.
You can get the raycast contact position with Get3DPhysicsRayCastContactPosition

Feel free to ask more questions about it
Yuhe
Years of Service
User Offline

Hi, thank you for your answer, I am a novice in this and I tell you that the camera in third person, I believe it having a central pivot that is father of another pivot in which I position the camera. I was hoping to set up a collider for the object child of the player's pivot, but it didn't work, you have some code example to understand the ray?, or in that case a simple drawing scheme, this would help a lot.

greetings.
janbo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Sep 2017 23:45 Edited at: 3rd Sep 2017 02:08
Here you go !
Rick Nasher
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Sep 2017 14:27 Edited at: 3rd Sep 2017 14:29
Now that's a real nice one Janbo, thanks for sharing! I hope you don't mind I use this code too?

AGK takes a bit of getting used to.
The cam collision fix was actually going to be my next step in an universal switchable 1st/3rd person cam routine I'm working on.

Currently struggling a bit to have the cam/player respond correctly to transitions between terrain from a heightmap, using: