Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Scripts / how to combine 2 scripts into one

Author
Message
Tomik18
FPSC Reloaded TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th May 2009
Location: Slovakia
Posted: 15th Sep 2017 15:11 Edited at: 15th Sep 2017 15:12
hello i need combining2 scripts into one

first script


second script


so the final script, if you press Enter on the switch, every switch has start one entity animation, then the entities start the animation and if I activate all the switches in the correct order, all the entities animated and open the door thanks for help
My PC specs: AMD FX 4300 3,80Ghz
8 GB RAM
GIGABYTE R9 280 Ultra Durable VGA 3GB
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 16th Sep 2017 01:09
Tomik18
I don't think it is possible with these scripts ? Are there others scripts to be used with this ?
There are so many variables in this "toggle switch" script I feel something is missing ???

Quote: "and if I activate all the switches in the correct order"

This is the problem, how many entities (switches) are to be activated.... and in which order???
This is not impossible, just need more info...
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Flatlander
FPSC Master
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 16th Sep 2017 01:14 Edited at: 16th Sep 2017 01:53
The Scary Thinker pack has a system that you must pull switches in the correct order in order for something to happen.

[Addendum]:

There is a demo map called "lamp sequence sample." The lamps are actually switches and they have to be selected in order. If the player chooses wrong then the other correctly selected lamps will return to their original position. You can use anything as a switch and you can have more or less switches by tweaking the scripts.
THEORY - you know everything but nothing works. PRACTICE - when everything works but don't know why.
For me, theory and practice are combined: nothing works and I don't know why.
Tomik18
FPSC Reloaded TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th May 2009
Location: Slovakia
Posted: 16th Sep 2017 02:27
Quote: "The Scary Thinker pack has a system that you must pull switches in the correct order in order for something to happen."


second script is from the scary thinker pack ( entities sequence )

Quote: "This is the problem, how many entities (switches) are to be activated.... and in which order???"


switches are 4
My PC specs: AMD FX 4300 3,80Ghz
8 GB RAM
GIGABYTE R9 280 Ultra Durable VGA 3GB
Flatlander
FPSC Master
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 16th Sep 2017 02:52
In order to use the main script "Sequence-switch 2.fpi" you will need to load each of the switches "start" script with either:

* appear1-id1.fpi
* appear1-id2.fpi
* appear1-id3.fpi
* appear1-id4.fpi

You will notice that each switch is loaded with the "id" of the switch in the order that they are to be selected. This is important. As I suggested take a look at the demo map mention above.
THEORY - you know everything but nothing works. PRACTICE - when everything works but don't know why.
For me, theory and practice are combined: nothing works and I don't know why.
Tomik18
FPSC Reloaded TGC Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th May 2009
Location: Slovakia
Posted: 16th Sep 2017 03:05
But how implement first script ?
My PC specs: AMD FX 4300 3,80Ghz
8 GB RAM
GIGABYTE R9 280 Ultra Durable VGA 3GB
Flatlander
FPSC Master
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 16th Sep 2017 05:04
@ncmakoi, First of all I hope Jose stays away from North Carolina. I'll be praying regardless. Secondly, you can take it from here. I have a terrible headache.
THEORY - you know everything but nothing works. PRACTICE - when everything works but don't know why.
For me, theory and practice are combined: nothing works and I don't know why.
ncmako
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 17th Sep 2017 20:28
@ FlatLander Thank you, I need all the help I can get
Quote: "There is a demo map called "lamp sequence sample"

@ Tomik18 FlatLander is totally correct. Open that demo and study the layout carefully.
With all the scripts in place it becomes apparent how the scripts works. Look at how they are
setup and labeled. If you do yours the same way you can't go wrong
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-05-23 06:18:33
Your offset time is: 2018-05-23 06:18:33