Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Command line solving ?

Author
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 10th Oct 2017 20:23
When I studied at University I remember being shown a method that I thought was perfect for deciphering DOS command line commands
I remember thinking for myself it would be really great for AI and a specific project I want to get back into.

This was a very good way of dealing with a heap of variations without a huge amount of conditional statements

Explaining this a DOS command can have a huge number of switches or optional parameters but depending on what parameters can take a
completely path. For example if option [a] and [c] exist than it would for [a] or even [a] and [d]. I understand you need some conditional statements but
there's a way of doing it without every possible path, considering you may have 20 switches. I hope that clears up what I'm after, it was a certain
framework and solution like pseudocode but could've been a language in itself. If anyone can shed light or a direction on where I can find this info
it would be greatly appreciated.

I also believe it would be a great way of coding AI for a particular program I have in mind as you could have many variations each with its own effects
Its very similar but a simplified version of like a computer program can be coded in many variations

Thanks in Advance
fubar
ShaunRW
DBPro Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Oct 2017 00:07 Edited at: 11th Oct 2017 00:18
I've recently been thinking about creating an ingame console for my projects.

I decided to define the commands in a json file which matches the command and argument count to a 'procedure'.