Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Chat / get file exists with raw paths dont seam to work?

Author
Message
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 7th Jan 2018 18:48
Is doing a small spriter app for my development and the get file exists command don't seam to work with raw commands?
always returns 0 ?

"raw:"+GetDocumentsPath()+"\Gameboy spriter\My_sprite "+str(Grabb_id)+".png"
Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz
puzzler2018
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 7th Jan 2018 19:02
Could you put that into a print() command and see what the full result is?
Markus
Valued Member
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 7th Jan 2018 19:11
u missed a underscore?
for me it works, i have win 10, and made a test folder with a test file in it.
if you made this app only for yourself, you can also save in media folder:
SetRawWritePath(GetReadPath())



AGK (Steam) V2017.12.12 : Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit : AMD (17.12.1) Radeon R7 265 : Mac mini OS High Sierra (10.13)
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 7th Jan 2018 20:50
Its weird but don't work here..
wath underscore do you mean?
My_sprite "+str(Grabb_id)+".png is simply My_sprite1.png
Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 7th Jan 2018 21:06 Edited at: 7th Jan 2018 21:08
Yes its only my own use but could be tired or something?
Got tired of trying to do retro sprites on highend paint prgs that seam to smooth everything ...
wanted a barebone one for personal use...
To speed painting up..
Pretty much most commands are key shortcuts
i have commands to shuffle parts to make walk animations from side images etc...


Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz

Attachments

Login to view attachments
puzzler2018
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 7th Jan 2018 21:12
Could you put that string into a print () so can see the full result of what its trying to load/save?
puzzler2018
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 7th Jan 2018 21:18


eg. this Is showing

raw:C:\Users\homepc\Documents\Gameboy spriter\My_sprite 1.png

does that file truly exist at that location - well replace "homepc" with yours?
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 7th Jan 2018 22:20 Edited at: 7th Jan 2018 22:23
Try it tomorrow have to go to bed....
work tomorrow
just finished the first stamp for a full animation to speed up sprite making..
i only change colors and a new character
This will pretty much be a simple inhouse tool.
Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Markus
Valued Member
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 8th Jan 2018 00:24
Quote: "e "+str(Grabb_id)+".png is simply My_sprite1.png"

u test My_sprite 1.png here with a space between the one, maybe its unwanted space or should be a _
AGK (Steam) V2017.12.12 : Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit : AMD (17.12.1) Radeon R7 265 : Mac mini OS High Sierra (10.13)
MikeMax
AGK Academic Backer
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2011
Location: Paris
Posted: 8th Jan 2018 06:05 Edited at: 8th Jan 2018 06:08
For me it works.

Even on Windows I prefer to use "/" instead of "\" in file path it maintains compatibility between windows and Linux systems (android/ios/mac/linux). (you can use SimplifyPath command)
Mobiius
Valued Member
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 8th Jan 2018 09:38
You have a space between My_sprite and the quotation mark.

You're expecting it to return My_sprite1, but it's returning My_sprite 1.
puzzler2018
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 8th Jan 2018 10:13
How do we know if it should be My_sprite 1.png or My_sprite1.png - has Cliff mentioned it

My_sprite1.png code "raw:"+GetDocumentsPath()+"\Gameboy spriter\My_sprite"+str(Grabb_id)+".png" - no space

My_sprite 1.png code "raw:"+GetDocumentsPath()+"\Gameboy spriter\My_sprite "+str(Grabb_id)+".png" - with space

Added note :- if needing this to work on Android - then it all has to be case sensitive too




Mobiius
Valued Member
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 8th Jan 2018 10:50 Edited at: 8th Jan 2018 10:50
Quote: "Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
My_sprite "+str(Grabb_id)+".png is simply My_sprite1.png"

Note the space in the code, but no space in his explanation.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-07-23 00:43:51
Your offset time is: 2018-07-23 00:43:51