Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / I think it's about time to restart my computer...

Author
Message
Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 9th Jan 2018 10:47 Edited at: 9th Jan 2018 10:48
See, I usually just put my computer to sleep it when I'm not using it. More accurately, that's the only thing I do. My computer's been slowing down a bit lately, so I checked today. Task manager reported that I currently have about 68 or so days of uptime. That doesn't count sleep time, only actually running time!

So I found a cmd prompt command that reveals the time and date of the last reboot...


Yes!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Chris Tate
DBPro Master
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 9th Jan 2018 17:08


I reboot mine about once every week or two.
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 9th Jan 2018 23:16 Edited at: 9th Jan 2018 23:22
Wow you guys reboot a lot...




Coding things my way since 1981 -- Currently using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 10th Jan 2018 03:00
Hmmm, maybe that command doesn't do what I think it does?
Yes!
Seppuku Arts
Moderator
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 10th Jan 2018 06:56
You never know he could still be running an old XP machine he’s never updated.
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 10th Jan 2018 13:50 Edited at: 10th Jan 2018 13:59
the command works as well as my paint program

Coding things my way since 1981 -- Currently using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
Phaelax
DBPro Master
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 10th Jan 2018 16:17
You know your up time is displayed in task manager right? Under the performance tab.

For a long time, it wasn't uncommon for my desktop to go 6 months without a reboot. I had a file server I never rebooted, unfortunately it rebooted itself every now and then due to a Win2k glitch (or hardware glitch). Ahh, back when a dual P133 and EDO ram could run my sql server.....
Tiled TMX Importer V.2
XML Parser V.2
Base64 Encoder/Decoder
Purple Token - Free online hi-score database
Legend of Zelda

"I like offending people, because I think people who get offended should be offended." - Linus Torvalds
Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 11th Jan 2018 21:07
Quote: "You know your up time is displayed in task manager right? Under the performance tab."
Right, that's what I meant by 68 or so days of uptime in my first post. But that only counts actual running time, not total time since last restart.
Yes!
Phaelax
DBPro Master
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 12th Jan 2018 21:44
You sure? Cause it matched the time I got from the command line.
Tiled TMX Importer V.2
XML Parser V.2
Base64 Encoder/Decoder
Purple Token - Free online hi-score database
Legend of Zelda

"I like offending people, because I think people who get offended should be offended." - Linus Torvalds
Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 15th Jan 2018 12:23 Edited at: 15th Jan 2018 12:25
I think so! I think I've done tests before, comparing total time and time actually running, but I could be wrong. Maybe I'll have to try again anyway.

Now there is one command that will give you the same time as task manager, but another command (I forget what it is) that gives you the longer, total time.

EDIT Ahah! I figured it out. The systeminfo command takes the task manager up time and uses that to predict a boot time, which is incorrect if you've slept (or possibly hibernated) your computer since last reboot. net stats workstation is the command that gives the correct boot time.
Yes!
Phaelax
DBPro Master
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 15th Jan 2018 15:24
I used the following command:

systeminfo|find "Time:"
Tiled TMX Importer V.2
XML Parser V.2
Base64 Encoder/Decoder
Purple Token - Free online hi-score database
Legend of Zelda

"I like offending people, because I think people who get offended should be offended." - Linus Torvalds

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-06-24 10:10:21
Your offset time is: 2018-06-24 10:10:21