Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Galaxy S8 Screen Position Help

Author
Message
BitManip
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2013
Location: Essex
Posted: 14th Jan 2018 19:26
Hi All

Thanks in advance.

I am back to playing with AppGameKit and when I broadcast my <game - virtual screen dims of 768*1024> to my ipad, it works full screen and positions correctly.

When I broadcast to my Android Samsung Galaxy S8, Sprites with a Y position of ZERO, are displayed at 0 but the top of the screen is reported as being -277 and the bottom is 1301?

How are you guys dealing with this?

I control all the juicy in here!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 14th Jan 2018 19:38
Did you get setup correct

#Correct
SetWindowSize( 1024, 768, 0 )
SetVirtualResolution( 1024, 768 ) // doesn't have to match the window

#Incorrect
SetWindowSize( 768, 1024, 0 )
SetVirtualResolution( 768, 1024 ) // doesn't have to match the window

With you saying 768x1024
BitManip
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2013
Location: Essex
Posted: 14th Jan 2018 19:42
puzzler2018



All should be tickety boo, but alas tis not?
I control all the juicy in here!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 14th Jan 2018 19:45
Change those numbers round

SetWindowSize(1024, 768, 0)

SetVirtualResolution(1024, 768 )
BitManip
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2013
Location: Essex
Posted: 14th Jan 2018 19:59
Without doubting you puzzler, why?


SetWindowSize( width, height, fullscreen )
SetVirtualResolution( iWidth, iHeight )

Firstly the window size is ONLY for desktop, does not affect mobile at all?
Secondly, I want the screen to be this size in virtual resolution?

When I do change it, the output is even worse?
I control all the juicy in here!
Bengismo
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Nov 2017
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posted: 14th Jan 2018 20:27 Edited at: 14th Jan 2018 20:29
Id guessits an aspect ratio issue.

The aspect ratio you have is set is agk 1024x768 (its 1.33) (or 1/1.33 if 768,1024)

All ipads also have a 1.33 aspect ratio too so it just happens to fit nice there too

But... the samsung S8
2,960x1,440 Aspect ratio of 2.05

see: https://www.appgamekit.com/documentation/Reference/Core/SetDisplayAspect.htm
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 14th Jan 2018 20:37
Was working with that too

So, I suppose could try SetDisplayAspect(width/height)

BitManip
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2013
Location: Essex
Posted: 24th Jan 2018 18:21
Hi All

I am still a little confused over what should seemingly be simple?

when I set the display aspect to 1.3 (4:3) of course it looks fantastic on Desktop and iPads. But only uses half of the S7/S8 screen (right in the centre vertically).

When I set the display aspect to 2.055 (1080/2220) (as is the S8) it still looks awful on the S8 (Looks like the wrong orientation) and the Desktop (looks really squashed).

When I set to 0.48 (2220/1080) it fills the S8 screen but only takesup half the screen on Desktop (does not use left and right).

I get the display aspects change the output and can only account for some of the screen (i.e black borders will be preset) BUT I though that SetScissor(0,0,0,0) stretched the display to fit?

So basically I want to know the best way of making an app that looks pretty good on ALL devices and uses as much of the screen as possible as currently I seem to ot be able to get this to work?

Thanks in advance.
I control all the juicy in here!
wyrleywolves2
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2018
Location:
Posted: 24th Jan 2018 19:18
Have u tried this :- SetVirtualResolution( GetMaxDeviceWidth(),GetMaxDeviceHeight() )
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 25th Jan 2018 09:11
Never set the display aspect manually. I always do the following:

If you force the app's display aspect to the s8 screen, of course it'll look bad on a desktop and vice versa. The trick is to setup your code to be independant, or to create separate apps per device.
BitManip
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2013
Location: Essex
Posted: 25th Jan 2018 19:04
Wyerly, Mobiius

thanks guys...just what I wanted to know!
I control all the juicy in here!
wyrleywolves2
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2018
Location:
Posted: 26th Jan 2018 00:52
Glad to be of service

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-25 01:25:21
Your offset time is: 2024-04-25 01:25:21