Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Camera orbit object?

Author
AGK Tool Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Mar 2018 23:27
Hey Gang, I have not been about much over the last few months due to life getting busy but now I want to start making this game I have been planing for the last 3 years and instantly hit a roadblock in the 3d math!

I want to make the camera orbit an object based on the mouse drag, its for a space game, the camera will always look at the player ship, click and drag the mouse and the camera should move in the opersit direction to the drag maintaining its current distance (typical space game 3d camera movement), I have searched google for advice and cobbled some code togeather that does not work properly, every solution out there uses in built engine functions to achive this, I have tried to interprate the code and recreate in AppGameKit but I'm no math guy and I dont really know where I am going wrong or what to change, the below is the closest I can get to what I need and its miles away!

This is the best I can do based on the information Google can turn up, I'm sure its close but I know its not quite right

Please someone help and put me out of my misery with some code that works, I am utterly lost trying to figure this out
GarBenjamin
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Mar 2018 05:50 Edited at: 2nd Mar 2018 06:31
I didn't plan on doing any dev stuff tonight but saw this and thought it would be interesting.

I think I ended up finding the same tutorial you had maybe.... C code using OpenGL? Anyway, I converted that but it also does not work... I suspect it probably works as well as the original source though which was probably also flawed. lol