Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / How many planes are reasonable?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
When I started playing with image memblocks, I quickly found out that I could convert each pixel in an existing image to a series of planes. This has evolved, and now I'm working on a VR pixelart editor, where each pixel is a seperate plane. So far, I keep it at 64x64 pixels, because I feel that 4096 planes is quite enough. But just how many planes are reasonable? And are there any way to make the planes eat less resources?

PS: check out my gif!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 26th Mar 2018 18:59
Looks good with your pixelart for starters.

ive experienced with using createobjectplane will be far more resources than instanceobject

With these two commands, I have managed

- createobjectplane (30k) before it boooms

- instanceobject, can reach more than treble but fps will start to get you down

so go with instanceobject and if already are then keep going. you will be fine with that

Hope this helps
basicFanatic
Years of Service
User Offline
Thanks! When I posted, I kind of wondered how you handled the boxes over that the minecraft thread. I didn't knew about instanceobject, but it was pretty easy to implement. Framerate is pretty crucial in VR. If it drops, the game is broken. So I try to play it safe!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 26th Mar 2018 20:56
Mesh building is the way to go for the type of game like Minecraft

Your welcome
Bengismo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Mar 2018 21:03
You dont need a separate plane for each pixel you have.