Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Windows / Display leaves track when text and images move.

Author
Message
MrZhangEPSB
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Aug 2017
Location:
Posted: 4th May 2018 19:06
Hello,

Whenever I run a program on my Acer Switch Alpha, the display does not properly clear the screen each frame. There is a ghost effect of the object/text as it moves across my screen. (Please see attached image). Any suggests would really help. I have already tried uninstalling and reinstalling to no avail.
smallg
Valued Member
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location: steam
Posted: 4th May 2018 20:59
could you provide an example code snippet that does it?
also you forgot the image
life's one big game
spec= 4ghz, 16gb ram, AMD R9 2700 gpu
MrZhangEPSB
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Aug 2017
Location:
Posted: 5th May 2018 02:53
Wow, that was embarrassing. I think I have attached the file now. The code snippet is below.

Thanks again!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
BatVink
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 5th May 2018 12:04
What graphics card do you have?
Are your graphics drivers up to date?
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur
TutCity is being rebuilt
smallg
Valued Member
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location: steam
Posted: 5th May 2018 14:41
weird, works fine for me, perhaps ClearScreen() may help?


if not does this method work? (far from ideal but may give a clue as to the issue)
life's one big game
spec= 4ghz, 16gb ram, AMD R9 2700 gpu
MrZhangEPSB
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Aug 2017
Location:
Posted: 7th May 2018 16:01
I've tried both code snippets and the issue is still occurring. I tried it on a different computer and it works fine. It's just the one computer. It used to work without a problem, but started this behavior about a month ago. It used to only occur on programs written on Rasperry Pi's and copied to the Windows computer, but now it's all programs.

The video drivers are up to date. Acer hasn't released new drivers since 2016.

Thanks
smallg
Valued Member
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location: steam
Posted: 7th May 2018 18:25
does it also leave trails around if you drag move windows around the screen? like your internet browser page but not maximized or is it purely random apps that are causing it? (something like the attachment)
it doesn't sound like it's directly related to AppGameKit so it's more likely an issue with your monitor or graphics card, do you have a way to swap out either and test?
life's one big game
spec= 4ghz, 16gb ram, AMD R9 2700 gpu

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Supertino
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2017
Location: Behind you!
Posted: 8th May 2018 08:34 Edited at: 8th May 2018 08:35
Do you get the same issue if you play a desktop game developed using AppGameKit? You can try "Bad robots", "Mazam" in my signature (itchi.io)
MikeZhangTNS
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd May 2017
Location:
Posted: 25th May 2018 17:17
Hi Everyone!

Thanks for all the support. I did try to Mazam and did not have any issues. Therefore I dug deeper for drivers and updated the display drivers from intels website. Now the display problem is resolved!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-05-27 14:21:52
Your offset time is: 2018-05-27 14:21:52