Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Showcase / Not another retro pixel game - Pocket rpg

Author
Message
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 22nd Jul 2018 10:30 Edited at: 14th Oct 2018 12:43


First prototype for my pocket rpg and it uses puzzler 2018 maze generator code …
https://forum.thegamecreators.com/thread/222579


find a download here…
Linux and windows release....
https://play8bitars.itch.io/not-another-retro-pixel-game
Android....
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.play8bitars.narpg













1001 test code.


Attachments

Login to view attachments
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Richard_6
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2017
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jul 2018 12:47
Looks nice, Cliff!
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 23rd Jul 2018 23:37
Thanks Richard...
doing a few updates because i cant sleep…

weapon upgrade and slightly larger map..
fixing the randomizer a bit...
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 24th Jul 2018 02:08
Made a bunch of updates to the game today..
larger dungeon
scroll to buy to quickly warp to a dungeons exit if neaded
upgradable weapon to shootgun (not fully implemented so far)
added sounds for movement and a bunch of small fixes.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
puzzler2018
1
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 8th Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 24th Jul 2018 19:12
Looks good..Well done.. Hope it brings lots of pennies with the internal upgrades ;_)
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 24th Jul 2018 21:40
I dont earn much
I have 12 apps up and some Days do i earn 0.0001 cent
Most days do i not earn anything
I do it for fun but who knows when i do the next angry birds
Currently are my dev funds probably more like -300 gbp
Did probably not help that i gave away a full version of Visual editor here a while back..
A double purchase i never refunded
Gave it fro free to a fellow forum dweller….
Latest updates and the version thats up…



Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
GarBenjamin
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posted: 29th Jul 2018 02:59
Looks you are making some excellent speedy progress on this. Nice job!
TI/994a (BASIC) -> C64 (BASIC/PASCAL/ASM/Others) -> Amiga (AMOS/BLITZ/ASM/C/Gamesmith) -> DOS (C/C++/Allegro) -> Windows (C++/C#/Monkey X/GL Basic/Unity/Others)
puzzler2018
1
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 8th Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 29th Jul 2018 06:55
I love it more when us developers can or cant finish our own games - thats the exciting challenge that awaits - if cant then made it very well.
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 29th Jul 2018 19:37
Thanks guys ….
Have more or less found the art style iam going to keep now
Time to add some more detail and touches to the maze generation...
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 30th Jul 2018 16:07
Fully working leveling up system now.
Buy new skins system added.
More fx added..

Going to work more on the dungeon generation again

Attachments

Login to view attachments
EdzUp
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 1st Aug 2018 14:16
if you could change the controls to arrow buttons instead of the analogue sticks it would make navigation much easier. I found I had to drag the stick to turn and sometimes ended up turning twice.
-EdzUp
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 1st Aug 2018 18:37 Edited at: 1st Aug 2018 18:37
Hmmm it works by simply tapping the round outer parts as a digipad on my devices …
Maybe i should change the grafix to make it more clear ?
Did you try to tapp the outer parts and not the ball in the middle?
If its an issue on the virtual joystick so do i have to change it sadly..

Thanks for testing
EdzUp
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 1st Aug 2018 19:37
on my device I have to tap bit it turns to much so it's rather chaotic.
-EdzUp
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 1st Aug 2018 20:48 Edited at: 1st Aug 2018 20:48
I understand now and thats a easy fix i simply make the Count down value for turning higher
Will be good again in 1.3 later..
Thanks for the feedback.
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 5th Aug 2018 17:06
Vacation over and back to work…
Finished this thing up Before so its a game and not a demo anymore..
Have fun and see ya all when i see ya again
Dont Think i have the energi to code so much again when iam back at the night shift

fubarpk
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 5th Aug 2018 18:11
Looks really good Cliff you have come a long way with it
fubar
EdzUp
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 5th Aug 2018 19:23
nice game updated to latest version it us easier to control now and quite fun to play
-EdzUp
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 5th Aug 2018 19:25
Thanks fubpark
I call the game Engine pussler as a credit for the first random maze code
Noticed now that its with zz but for the next update

Game Always boots with the c64 style screen like this

Attachments

Login to view attachments
fubarpk
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 6th Aug 2018 06:20
love the idea of a commodore screen should show puzzler

just curious from the video I see like green patches on the ground is that meant to be like blood from the kills

fubar
GarBenjamin
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posted: 6th Aug 2018 16:21 Edited at: 6th Aug 2018 16:22
Wow great job Cliff! This is well done very well polished. This is one of best designs I have seen for a mobile game. It actually works very well with limitations of a cell phone. Awesome work!
TI/994a (BASIC) -> C64 (BASIC/PASCAL/ASM/Others) -> Amiga (AMOS/BLITZ/ASM/C/Gamesmith) -> DOS (C/C++/Allegro) -> Windows (C++/C#/Monkey X/GL Basic/Unity/Others)
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 6th Aug 2018 18:56
Naa its only pixel designs

Thanks guys

Uploaded latest update with better dungeon looks randomizer to make it a bit better and made a simple logo for the store and slide db.
Version 1.6 is the one to look for.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
fubarpk
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 8th Aug 2018 00:15 Edited at: 8th Aug 2018 00:25
I followed blink0ks advice and added normals to my variant of the maze app

The normal maps were very easy to create I use Gimp for my graphics so I installed Gimp-normal-map plugin

Gimp https://www.gimp.org/
Gimp Normal Map-Pluginhttps://code.google.com/archive/p/gimp-normalmap/

Apologies if you have normal maps already just thought they really could bring the walls out in particular that's what I noticed

and if you go with the plugin I used it has a 3D preview mode before it makes changes to the texture (just back up your textures just in case)

I really think this has potential to be something big

I wont post a pic or video but if you want to check out what I mean by normals https://forum.thegamecreators.com/thread/222704
the last post down the bottom has a video take note of the walls once it starts to show play mode. It kinda looks as though it is made
up of bricks instead of a flat texture

To create the wall normals I simply used a walls texture clicked normal in filters inverted x and y in its settings. The preview is handy to see
how well it will work
fubar
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 8th Aug 2018 06:36
Thanks edzup
Missed your post Before

Fubpark I wil check it later on when i update the game some more..
I have a few thight days right now at work
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 9th Aug 2018 21:02
1.8 have alot of updates now with the event zones visible etc
enemies get flak vests on higher levels.
Lights added.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
GarBenjamin
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posted: 9th Aug 2018 21:43 Edited at: 9th Aug 2018 21:44
Wow this is coming along awesomely. Looks and plays quite well. The only thing I ran into is the controls sometimes are sluggish. Like hitting move or turn sometimes I need to press 2 to 3 times before it responds. But most of the time it is just one press.
TI/994a (BASIC) -> C64 (BASIC/PASCAL/ASM/Others) -> Amiga (AMOS/BLITZ/ASM/C/Gamesmith) -> DOS (C/C++/Allegro) -> Windows (C++/C#/Monkey X/GL Basic/Unity/Others)
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 10th Aug 2018 07:23
Thanks gar i will have to look at that …
Iam going to optimize it this weekend so i can add more stuff...
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 11th Aug 2018 04:48
Cut down the move timer to see if it fixed the sluggish Controls?
Also replaced old grass and veins ….

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 11th Aug 2018 12:45
Experimenting on how to get a snes pixel look to all the 3d also…
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 12th Aug 2018 01:19

Attachments

Login to view attachments
GarBenjamin
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posted: 12th Aug 2018 15:31
This is starting to look superb Cliff! Very well done!!
TI/994a (BASIC) -> C64 (BASIC/PASCAL/ASM/Others) -> Amiga (AMOS/BLITZ/ASM/C/Gamesmith) -> DOS (C/C++/Allegro) -> Windows (C++/C#/Monkey X/GL Basic/Unity/Others)
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 13th Aug 2018 23:18 Edited at: 13th Aug 2018 23:21
Thanks gar
Playing around some more with the game..
Van B
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 14th Aug 2018 15:58
Looking cool!

Reminds me... we really should finish EDS and get it released.
The code is dark and full of errors
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 14th Aug 2018 18:52
Hi van
Long time no see
I tryed to email you a while back about the Project but never got a answer
But i have had my hands full also lately with alot of private stuff...
I have Everything left as we left it somewhere on a usb stick ?
I dont remember if you had the latest version or i ?
Have you seen that some russian guys made a almost complete copy of our game ?
Not Another dungeon or something is it called.
Noticed they released it also on Xbox now..
The Publisher is the same that wanted to publish the game for us if iam not wrong
But we where so far from finished.
Iam intrested in also purchasing some pixel skills from you if you are intrested for some of my own Projects
I know your skills...

Nothing that stops us from looking at the Project again
We had some fun until i messed it up privatly

I where online to post that i uploaded a new update v 2.2..
And wonder if anyone have got the super Bright bug or sluggish Controls?
GarBenjamin
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posted: 15th Aug 2018 16:00 Edited at: 15th Aug 2018 16:01
Hey Cliff I noticed android pulled an update down for your game this morning and I finally gave it a try. Looks excellent but there is definitely some issue with controls.

Movement seems fine but turning is very unresponsive. Often turn left didn't work at all and turn right did. So I tried to play only turning right and even that worked only a few times in a row and then seemed to ignore my presses. Then it worked again for a few more turns in a row then stopped responding again. Over and over.

Basically it is unplayable in this state.
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 15th Aug 2018 17:21
Thanks gar
This means the agk in house virtual joystick is the issue here …..
Iam going to code in my own multi touch on screen Controls instead here…
Will do it while i make the new minimap…
Thanks for your input.
GarBenjamin
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posted: 15th Aug 2018 17:57 Edited at: 15th Aug 2018 18:23
Not a problem at all. I am not into mobile games really but I am into helping my fellow devs. I will test your next update when I can and let you know if it resolves the issue.

I guess I might start a new project tonight. An ultra lowres 80x72 complete game for my GameJolt account. Just need to figure out what. Was thinking of doing A Game By Its Cover jam but Blink got busy with other work, jam time is half gone and none of the box art I've seen jumps out as something of high interest.
fubarpk
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 15th Aug 2018 20:14 Edited at: 15th Aug 2018 20:22
It sounds to me like a problem with FPS
My experience with similar issues with the same maze concept
1.>I found transparency objects cut back frame rate when they was in view
2.>I also use a transparent video on the title page and found deleting the video and any sprites and images with it once done
and reloading as necessary also helped and the loading time wasn't noticed on my old cheapy mobile
3.>I use 3 shaders with mine the main one is very simple just glows the light around posters but the other 2 one that pixelates
the grabs the background as an image and pixelates it for a punch and the other that kinda does a fractal effect to the back
ground when you complete the level. I found it was also best to delete from memory and reload and recreate as needed.
This deleting shaders effect really helped with frame rates and the creation time isn't noticed.
4.>I also found there was quite a few objects that AppGameKit didn't seem to like so many. this was an issue that puzzler2018 found
found with the minecraft thread. With mine I had coin meshes at every free spot and 1 health pack somewhere in the maze.
So this gave me quite allot of objects. I cut back on memory usage by following your example and turning every wall and poster
into a planeobject this cut back overheads and helped me squeeze more frame rates out of my mobile.
4.>Collision objects also effect frame rates so I make sure collisions are set to off for all objects except walls. This also squeezes a
few more FPs

Quote: "The frame rates still drop with mine when there are transparent objects in view combined with meshes but by making the other
changes to the overheads I found it only dropped down to 24 FPs on my cheapy mobile so I figure that was workable"


Just my two cents worth Cliff its a fantastic looking app for a mobile that you have created but I wondered with the things you were
adding how it effected the frame rates. So I thought ide share my experiences as it seems the issue that Gar might be having I hope
you don't mind me commenting. To be honest I still have not downloaded your app to try, as internet is a pain with my old mobile I
do plan to tho.
fubar
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 15th Aug 2018 20:35
I like all the input
The game where so simpe that i really havent bin looking so much on timed movement an such.
And thats also because i use grid based movement.
But i found the bug and that where in the input code for moving and turning
I simply turned down the sync rate to 16 to test and try
I had it update camera positions and rotations inside the timed sections that got really bad if the framerate would drop under 20 fps on a device.

But its fixed now….
A fun fact is that my computer runs it at 25 fps with a locked framerate around 30 but my mobiles runs it at 30-32 fps
I made a few tweaks that should fix that…
The rest should not be affected as they are plain and simple 2d screens..
Even when it flips to battle do i cut the camera range to 2 and when battle is over turn the range back again..

I also even turn of transperency and sets sprit to Active =0 Always on my apps on backgrounds and hud backs..
But its not agks fault that all Android devices is so varied

If you guys could download and test 2.4?
fubarpk
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 15th Aug 2018 20:43
Quote: "I also even turn off transparency and sets sprit to Active =0"

That's a great trick for squeezing a few more FPS I didn't think of turning off transparency for spites not active

Ok about to download now
fubar
fubarpk
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 15th Aug 2018 21:09 Edited at: 15th Aug 2018 21:15
Quote: "But its not agks fault that all Android devices is so varied "

I think they have done quite well to get it to work on so many devices framerate tricks is something we
have to learn ourselves from experience tho

Ok I tried love the commodore loading screens and the effect while it creates the mazes is pretty cool
Had to join some site which im not sure was some kind of high score storage.(not a lover of games that
make you do that) Got the game to play and was a little excited as it was working quite well in the
beginning but then it was registering button presses for both movement and turning but not doing
anything when it should have been moving or turning and became unplayable.

Overall looked very polished graphically and has excitement appeal just the controls need some tuning
and I think they could be a little larger. Will keep an eye out for updates

The phone I used is a Samsung Galaxy J1
Display4.30-inch.
Processor1.2GHz dual-core.
Resolution480x800 pixels.
RAM512MB.
OSAndroid 4.4.Kit Kat
fubar
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 15th Aug 2018 21:35 Edited at: 15th Aug 2018 21:37
Now i see it
That mobile is a older lowend device that uses a smaller screen resolution then the app is done for also so that could be a issue ?
i have a old samsung somewhere i could test to see if it happens there….

My app is written for 960x640 that i read somewhere is comon among Iphone 4 and higher and later samsung mobiles.

Iam going to check the code and see if i can Crunch a few things down somewhere…….

I Think i have to stop being lazy and completely remove the virtual joysticks
If i remember it right did they give me alot of issues on pixelstein also ….

One question! did the issue happen after a battle screen?
Because iam forced to activate and deactivate the sticks there…


The sites is goggle gamecenter you get with your goggle account.

Keeps track of achievements and online leaderboards only
fubarpk
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 15th Aug 2018 21:49
Quote: "One question! did the issue happen after a battle screen?"

The battlescreen was fine the main issue just seem after time even just moving in general it just went to a
stage where the joysticks responded just it didn't move. Im not sure it may just be some code that needs
tuning or perhaps my phone started doing something else. I just noticed the buttons were registering but
not doing anything. Im not sure how to check fps on my phone on others apps or I would've checked that.

I still believe it has great potential but I would expect the biggest market for such a retro app would be on
lower end devices but I could be wrong.

Quote: "I Think i have to stop being lazy and completely remove the virtual joysticks"

I agree then you have better control of the button placement and size.
fubar
GarBenjamin
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posted: 15th Aug 2018 22:05 Edited at: 15th Aug 2018 22:09
Version 2.4 was much better and the real problem seems to me there are two sets of buttons.

A larger button with a smaller button on top for each action. I found that when pressing center of the smaller on top buttons they showed being pressed but nothing happened however if I played pressing only the outer visible edge of the larger buttons underneath turning and moving always worked.

Is there a reason why there are double buttons for each action?
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 15th Aug 2018 22:14
I where lazy using same image on the two parts of the virtual joystick
Dugg up my super old samsung galaxy s3 mini to try it on and runs like crapp
But now when i have the phone up so could i code some auto detect stuff for smaller phones...
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 15th Aug 2018 22:40
I will upload a new version in 2 hours….
Have a auto detect for the pixel fx to only activate if the phone can run higher then 20 fps
Going to replace the buttons to steer.
fubarpk
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 15th Aug 2018 23:21 Edited at: 15th Aug 2018 23:34
Quote: "Version 2.4 was much better and the real problem seems to me there are two sets of buttons."

That just may be the problem, when you replace with your own buttons im curious if that fixes the problem

hahahah but I like the effects and want to see them

Is the effect while generating the maze a shader or code ?
fubar
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 16th Aug 2018 03:13
I use render to image
Could be an issue on older i dont know?
Iam uploading the new 2.5 with dynamic rendering detection and new control gui.
Its completely dynamic so when i improve the engine will you sooner or later see the fx
i have 3 phones to test it on..
galaxy mini s3
honor 6 and 8
when i get the honor 6 to run it so do i know iam close
fubarpk
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 16th Aug 2018 06:03
That is much better cliff, I made it to an exit
The buttons worked proper I didn't lol
and the frame rates seem good
fubar

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-12-12 22:55:31
Your offset time is: 2018-12-12 22:55:31