Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / I Used to Think I Was a Very Fast Game Developer... Not So Sure Now.... How About You?

Author
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Sep 2018 20:52 Edited at: 3rd Sep 2018 20:56
Hey folks.

For a long time like I am talking back on the Amiga days even I strived to continually improve my skills and processes to be a very efficient developer.
To a lot of people I am very fast at making games but I have noticed a growing number of incredibly fast game developers out there.

Take a look at the entries in the last Ludum Dare (LD42) for example and considering only the Compo entries done by a single person we can see that 1,056 individuals made a game entirely from scratch within 48 hours. I think this is quite incredible. Even more so considering many of these are the first games ever made by the person. And furthermore many of the games were actually made in less than 1 day due to that being all the time the people had available in the weekend.

This is not an isolated phenomenon by any means. The number of developers entering these game jams and completing (sometimes highly polished) games within 2 days is continually growing. The Game Maker's Tool Kit Jam 2018 was this past weekend. 1,158 games were made within 2 days. Again many being the first game made by the person.