Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / I Used to Think I Was a Very Fast Game Developer... Not So Sure Now.... How About You?

Author
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 4th Oct 2018 23:12
that game looks pretty cool Garbenjamin

and CJB awesome glad to see some development further in Tunnel shooter
fubar
Xaby
FPSC Reloaded TGC Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Oct 2018 15:13
What are the benefits of AGK2?

AGK2 runs on the Raspberry Pi (somehow, don't saw it live in action) and AGK2 runs on Android itself.
It is smaller than Unity or Unreal on the installation side.

My first installation of Unity was about 8 GByte, I guess and Unreal about 40 GBytes, I guess. AGK2 only about 1 GByte, the Raspberry Pi version only about 300 MB or so.

Export to Android as APK is a configuration mess with Unity and Unreal Engine. It works, but you need to install Android Studio. AGK2 Tier 1 Basic can do that out of the box!!!

What about the Asset store? Oh, we have a lot of assets, but they are not well sorted, maybe. All FPS Creator Classic *.X files are there. That are about 8000 objects (some are doppelgangers)

I think, at this moment AGK2 does not compete with Unity or Unreal. It more competes with Godot. But at this moment Godot can't export to OpenGL ES 2.0 Android.

Game Maker Studio 2.0 is much more expensive, if you want to export to Android.

Does need AGK2 an editor? I guess, it would be great, to have the option, to change the template for "New Project" with some custom files.

Often we write the same code over and over again. Menu navigation, RPG elements / health system, level data loader, ...