Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Createtext with an array not working

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Dear forum,

I am not a novice to programming however I am new to AGK.

I am trying to create text with the input from an array, heres my code:

The code doesnt give any errors, the depth is also not a problem because when I replace the createText with CreateText (questionText, "Hello world" ) it will work fine.

I am probably making some kind of noob mistake thx
GarBenjamin
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Sep 2018 20:21 Edited at: 22nd Sep 2018 20:22
Hello! I think you forgot to describe what the problem actually is that you are encountering.

You said "The code doesnt give any errors, the depth is also not a problem because when I replace the createText with CreateText (questionText, "Hello world" ) it will work fine."
That's great but what is the behavior you are seeing if you do not make that change to the CreateText function?
Golelorn
Years of Service
User Offline
That code works for me. Don't forget to resize the text with settextsize(). Default is tiny.
AlexMes
Years of Service
User Offline
Yes this code actually did work. But only if you run it all from the main.agc

When I declared the array questions as global in main.agc but then include a questions.agc in which i define the array. The array doesnt get populated.

So put the populating of the array in a seperate file, lets call it questions.agc:

and replace the upper code with this include line (inside main.agc)

Now the code doesnt work anymore.
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 23rd Sep 2018 11:47