Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / New here and not asking for help .... yet.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Well having come across AppGameKit a week or so ago it rekindled a long standing desire in me to write a game.
I started programming back in the day on a ZX81, then Electron, then BBC, then PCs in Pascal, learnt Fortran and Cobol at Poly then got a job programming a System36 in RPGII …. then nothing apart from the odd Excel macro and a bit of Delphi until I came across BitzBasic a good few years ago …

In all that time I've never succeeded in making a game (arcade for preference), so after finding AppGameKit I dabbled for a bit with the demo, liked what I saw and bought the premium package the other day.

Currently working on a 2D Shoot 'em Up type thing as my first project, and my brain hurts from not having programmed anything for so long … basics are in but a long way to go.

At the moment I've not encountered a problem that a good amount of searching has not provided the answer to or at least a push in the right direction, but at some point I will inevitably have to ask a question or two.

Hopefully I will be able to finally put the game writing desire to bed before I hit *cough* 50 next March ......

Graham
Virtual Nomad
Years of Service
Recently Online
Posted: 16th Nov 2018 00:22 Edited at: 16th Nov 2018 00:27
welcome, GH.

i've never succeeded at FINISHING a game but had tons of fun starting 100's & 100's of them going back more than a decade with DBPro and just came off hiatus from that era by picking AppGameKit, similar to you.