Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Android / What would be the best platform for building 2D Android games?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
What would be the best platform for building 2D Android games for an intermediate level game developer?
Operep
Years of Service
User Offline
i would say Unity. i was a newbie 2 years ago and struggled to choose the platform, and came across unity. and it was not so hard to make on as unity has a huge community supporter, and people help me a lot on that, managed to make my first game with in 1 months (long but for a newbie it's great). and when i check on APKnite(the site i post my game on) it has over 12k download, which is amazing!
Proadite
Years of Service
User Offline
it's depended actually, there are pros and cons of the platforms so you need to choose for what you prefer
=PRoF=
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Feb 2019 13:31
I gotta say "App Game Kit", especially since this is the AppGameKit forum u'r posting on
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 15th Mar 2019 01:11
AGK is allot more suited to mobile devices than unity ever has been or will be
which makes AppGameKit the choice for mobile development. Sure there are plenty of android apps made with Unity but they require higher spec phones and tablets

fubar
Faizan Alam
Years of Service
User Offline
Unity is one of the best android game development platforms I've ever used. My vote for Unity.
Raven
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Apr 2019 01:57
AGK or Cocoa are good options., of course it depends entirely on what your "End Goal" is.