Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Newbie here! [2D Hidden Object/Point & Click]

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello there,

I was recommended to come here by a user named @baxslash. I have been gifted this application on Steam because a friend knew I was interested in making a game. I have done some research online and I can't seem to find any simple tutorials for what I want to achieve. I am a digital artist in my spare time so I would like to create some simple basic images to get me started with my idea. My idea of a game is a point and click game, with hidden object scenes. And possibly a card system where you can collect decks and earn rewards. I know I may need to invest in some time learning some C++ but if anyone can link some simple tutorials or guides here, I would really appreciate it. Maybe even some base default artwork to work from.
w0rm
Years of Service
User Offline
If you don't have earlier programming experience (and even if you would have) I would recommend checking The Official AppGameKit Tutorial Guides Vol 1 & 2. There's a free extract available also if you want to check before buying. There's a separate guide for C++ stuff but I would not start with that without having experience in the language itself.

Also check the official Help and Guides.

You can also found a bunch of examples under the installation folder of AppGameKit in the folder called "Projects". More examples are available if you buy the games packs.
janbo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Jan 2019 22:32
Welcome RudiBH
A friend of baxlash is also our friend