Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / AGKS should save ide prefs local and not systemwide: what do you think

Author
Message
c0d3r9
AGK Developer
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2019 16:39
I like it in the preorder phase that we have nothing to install.
And so i think the ide should save there prefs/conf local in the AGKS directory.
And not in C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Local\AGKApps\TheGameCreators\Ide
Btw i like the idea of a portable AGKS.

What does the community think?
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD
Ortu
DBPro Master
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posted: 27th Mar 2019 01:19 Edited at: 27th Mar 2019 01:23
You can still write app data to %appdatalocal% while keeping it portable, and appdatalocal is local/restricted to the user. it is not system wide.

Appdatalocal is the windows best practice and should be followed unless there is a good reason not to, such as needing to write data that can be used across user profiles.

Say there are 2 users that share the same machine, they each want their own preferences, appdatalocal provides this by default, storing to a flash drive or c:\dev\ or something complicates this, requiring the app to implement its own concept of a 'user'
http://games.joshkirklin.com/sulium

A single player RPG featuring a branching, player driven storyline of meaningful choices and multiple endings alongside challenging active combat and intelligent AI.
Amon
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2014
Location: Shropshire, United Kingdom
Posted: 27th Mar 2019 10:51
The prefs for the IDE color layout never get saved in this version either. It's kind of annoying but Studio is too good for me to care during the alpha.
Imaginations' greatest gift is the knowledge you supply it.
c0d3r9
AGK Developer
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 27th Mar 2019 12:33 Edited at: 27th Mar 2019 12:34
@Ortu: i mean if i save such things like ide color (and windows positions in future) etc. if you have several alphas atm all setting are made for all.
IDE settings should be near the IDE.(maybe with an option for import/export)
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-09-30 17:54:16
Your offset time is: 2020-09-30 17:54:16