Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 19th Apr 2019 08:25 Edited at: 22nd Apr 2019 21:46
for those that have played around with cRobots or even better the one im trying
to reproduce based on Atari version where you soldered up a circuit and tested
your robot against others in a battle

here is the prototype

here is the 3D version models courtesy of blink
Edited video removed for space
the robots has some lovely animations which im still yet to implement properly
but atm I have the robots moving around shooting if there is something in radar
and slashing if its close

lots to do yet
what I cant seem to get right atm is the shoot routine. which basically works as there
is an object attached to the arm that moves a sort of invisible gun
heres the code I use



the movements for the robots i havent used the move commands instead i opted to calculate the
forwardmovementvector and using that to set the objects position. I may change this yet not sure




But my question is does anyone see an issue with the robotshoot function as I cant ?
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 19th Apr 2019 08:44
For those interested the white blocks are used like
bottom one for collisions and slash range
top one for radar range
and the one attached to the arm as the gun
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 20th Apr 2019 05:48 Edited at: 22nd Apr 2019 21:43
getting the animations to work better
Edited video removed for space

All robots currently using the same program
which is just move turn and attack

but quickly created 2 new textures and chucked 6 in the ring to see how it went
the shooting is now coming out the end better but I have to work on that still so
as it shoots when the frame is facing forward or something yet

and I think my vidcard/monitor is bleeding lol ohwell need a new one for vulkan anyway
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 20th Apr 2019 07:14
Looking good. Starting to look like real live robots!
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 20th Apr 2019 07:21
Thanks blink took most of day to get it to function like that
but im happy I can atleast see the robots animating better
thats it for today

fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 21st Apr 2019 08:55 Edited at: 30th Apr 2019 06:48
changed the logic a bit and think the animations work nicer please excuse my bad camera movement to catch it
Video removed for space
that attempt of filming didn't capture the slash animation
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 23rd Apr 2019 12:01 Edited at: 30th Apr 2019 06:48
Video removed for space
ive made allot of the code modular and added health bars

Problem struggling with physics collisions again im sure there should be some hits
recorded as it should print "SHOT something" it may be because the only physics object
is the bullet. but im sure if mixed physics objects before and still recorded collisions.
Please correct me if it cant do it this way


Setup bullets this way


and a robot is declared like
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 23rd Apr 2019 19:53 Edited at: 30th Apr 2019 06:46
Video removed for space
got some physics collisions working but think i need to work on the firing
atm the robots shoot at anything in their radar. lol
one registered shot does 10 percent damage
the slash will be an instant kill when i impliment it
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 25th Apr 2019 02:15 Edited at: 30th Apr 2019 06:46
ok got the slash registering a hit now
Video removed for space

avoid the printed statements that was jut me debugging and comes up whenever there is a hit not necessarily a correct
one like the health indicators may show

when the robots go back that shows they have been decommissioned other wise known as dead
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 25th Apr 2019 22:25
Looks good matey. If you want to shoot while walking you can just animate the "upper" model to shoot and leave the "lower" model walking
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 25th Apr 2019 23:43 Edited at: 30th Apr 2019 06:45
Thanks
This version he walks and shoots I also added name tags which i think is kinda cool
just random atm but when the design your robot is implimented will be able to
select what robots to put it up against


Video removed for space
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 27th Apr 2019 21:10 Edited at: 27th Apr 2019 21:57
At the moment I use Setobject position for moving the robots
where the movement vector is calculated


where its just used like


but when I try and replace setobjectposition with move commands I get strange behaviours
this is what I tried

and sometimes they head backwards and sometimes they head forwards am I missing something ?

any ideas anyone?

EDIT
Quote: "Silly me I only need MoveObjectLocalZ(robot.lower,.25) in the movement and don't need the vector
if I decide to go back to using the built in move commands I really should sleep sometimes lol"

There was a reason I needed to use setobjectposition I just cant for the life of me think why now as the move
is working better
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
Rick Nasher
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jul 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posted: 29th Apr 2019 21:13
Just as much an interesting project as your other one. Cool stuff.
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 29th Apr 2019 21:58
How come the movement is a bit stuttery?
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 30th Apr 2019 00:01
Quote: "How come the movement is a bit stuttery?"


I think the way im moving them causes that as it does a step by step list of stuff ie movement,.25 then rotate then attack
I did try and attach the objects to a standing upright cylindrical physics object and used the physics movements that
worked much smoother but the main problem with that the robots kept tipping over and wasn't happy with my turning
routine but may have to go to that method
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 30th Apr 2019 03:11 Edited at: 30th Apr 2019 06:45
ok thanks to blinks help it was infact the way I was using the movement states causing the issue
I also changed the robot avoidance routine its working better as they are not walking
through the ones which are presently commissioned

Video removed for space
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 30th Apr 2019 06:44
Ok so I added some different robot commands
still very basic move turn rotate for 5 of the robots and the gold one run turn attack
the gold one seems top avoid allot of the bullets and slasher this way but doesnt get
as many kills



Think i might do a score based system and to the right it will show the robots by there
names later as you will be able to select what robots to put your robot against. Once I
do the code stage
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 10th May 2019 04:34 Edited at: 10th May 2019 04:36
Thanks GarBenjamin

Havent done many changes at all

but adding a kinda tally count to the right

the robot command list is as follows below, still some issues with the robots going out of bounds
but basically there command goes into a list ,if it can move then move is added to the stacklist
it then process's a robots stacklist removing commands once theyre complete. Not sure how Im
going to make the use of gates atm still undecided on the best approach lol that's just me but I think
having a tally sheet to the side is a good idea perhaps with the same colours of each robot. The other
thing you might note if it has attack in the list it will only attack if another robot is in radar

robot 1


robot 2


robot 3


robot 4


robot 5


robot 6
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
Jerry McGuire
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2017
Location:
Posted: 24th May 2019 16:01
Looking good!
AppGameKit 2018.10.10

iMac Book Pro, MacOS 10.14, Xcode 10.1;
iPhone 6, iOS 12; iPad (3rd gen), iOS 9.35; iPad Pro 12'9 (2nd gen), iOS 12.

Dell Precision T7400, Windows 7 Professional 64bit, Visual Studio Community 2017;
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 24th May 2019 23:31
Looking good. They kind of look like they're gliding across the floor. Maybe speed up the animation a little
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 25th May 2019 07:14
Thanks Everyone its on hold atm
as I have been working on other projects
but will eventually get back to it
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
Rick Nasher
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jul 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posted: 26th May 2019 01:11
Hadn't checked for a while but it's getting better and better. Thumbs up!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-19 23:03:46
Your offset time is: 2024-04-19 23:03:46