Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit/AppGameKit Studio Showcase / [WIP] Tower Defence Android

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th May 2019 10:37 Edited at: 9th May 2019 10:41
This is my first game I've created (in AppGameKit or any other engine), without counting smaller projects that I gave up on.

I'm only a programmer by hobby (but doing more and more programming at work now), and only work on this on my spare time, so it goes slowly but it's starting to look like something.
I use AppGameKit Tier 2 (C++) and create it for mobile (Android for now).

It's a Tower Defence map, but with a rather large map. Here is a short demo of what I have so far:

Some details:

- There are currently about 24 different towers. On an empty cell you can only create the first type of tower. This tower can then be upgraded to either "aimless" or "aiming" tower. "Aimless" will only shoot straight in the its direction (the direction can be changed). The "Aiming" tower will aim at the "mobs" that are in range and have traveled the furthest.

- This is a render from the 3D modeling tool showing all the towers. So the color defines the level of the tower, and the different branches shows how they can be upgraded.

- When the game starts, mobs are coming in waves from the start, and will end at the endpoint (if not killed).
For each wave, the endpoint will move by one cell. So basically for every wave, the path is longer. As you can see in the video, part of the map is dark. This part get available as the path end point is moved. You cannot build on a grayed out grass cell.