Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
locecode
User Offline
Joined: 11th Apr 2019
Location:
Posted: 14th May 2019 08:14
So fpsc is written in dark basic pro, But dark basic pro only supports 7 lights at a time.

fpsc can have as many lights as you wish to place in each level.

Do the math.
Raven
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Mar 2005
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 14th May 2019 10:25
Dark BASIC Professional support as many Hardware Lights as the Hardware does... with DirectX 9.0 Hardware, this is a limitation of 8 (although Modern GPU will typically support up to 32, but I wouldn't recommend using that many; as each Hardware Light comes with a severe performance penalty).
Yet, this is ONLY for Hardware (Transform and Lighting) Lights.

There are two key ways to bypass this limitation.
One way is through Baked Lighting., by that I mean things like Lightmapping (which Dark Lights, developed for FPS Creator provided).
With Baked Lightmaps, there is the limitation that it will only affect Static Geometry... it's possible to create a Projected Lightmap (say for Swinging Lanterns or such) but still you can't really have the Geometry on such Animated as it's akin to Projecting a Shadow or a Decal onto a Surface.

Pixel Shaders are good for Real-Time (Dynamic) Lighting, as you can have more of them... although generally speaking for "Performance" Reasons; it's best to stick to 3 Light Source / Object., and just pass through the most dominant.
Players tend not to notice, but with the advent of things like Real-Time Ray Tracing or Sphere Harmonic Global Illumination., you can portray said subject differences today with Modern Engines but this isn't something FPSC / Dark BASIC Professional can currently do.

In fact it would be difficult in AppGameKit v1 or v2 right now., although Studio (v3) should be more capable of such.
locecode
User Offline
Joined: 11th Apr 2019
Location:
Posted: 14th May 2019 10:38 Edited at: 14th May 2019 10:38
I am reusing light's, positioning them and changing colors on a trigger basis, it works good, but a lot more code.

Thanks for the information.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-07-23 23:44:18
Your offset time is: 2019-07-23 23:44:18