Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
locecode
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Apr 2019
Location:
Posted: 14th May 2019 08:14
So fpsc is written in dark basic pro, But dark basic pro only supports 7 lights at a time.

fpsc can have as many lights as you wish to place in each level.

Do the math.
Raven
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Mar 2005
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 14th May 2019 10:25
Dark BASIC Professional support as many Hardware Lights as the Hardware does... with DirectX 9.0 Hardware, this is a limitation of 8 (although Modern GPU will typically support up to 32, but I wouldn't recommend using that many; as each Hardware Light comes with a severe performance penalty).
Yet, this is ONLY for Hardware (Transform and Lighting) Lights.

There are two key ways to bypass this limitation.
One way is through Baked Lighting., by that I mean things like Lightmapping (which Dark Lights, developed for FPS Creator provided).
With Baked Lightmaps, there is the limitation that it will only affect Static Geometry... it's possible to create a Projected Lightmap (say for Swinging Lanterns or such) but still you can't really have the Geometry on such Animated as it's akin to Projecting a Shadow or a Decal onto a Surface.

Pixel Shaders are good for Real-Time (Dynamic) Lighting, as you can have more of them... although generally speaking for "Performance" Reasons; it's best to stick to 3 Light Source / Object., and just pass through the most dominant.
Players tend not to notice, but with the advent of things like Real-Time Ray Tracing or Sphere Harmonic Global Illumination., you can portray said subject differences today with Modern Engines but this isn't something FPSC / Dark BASIC Professional can currently do.

In fact it would be difficult in AppGameKit v1 or v2 right now., although Studio (v3) should be more capable of such.
locecode
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Apr 2019
Location:
Posted: 14th May 2019 10:38 Edited at: 14th May 2019 10:38
I am reusing light's, positioning them and changing colors on a trigger basis, it works good, but a lot more code.

Thanks for the information.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-08-09 22:05:17
Your offset time is: 2020-08-09 22:05:17