Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / Tablet PC's

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Dec 2003 16:28
As I am new to texturing and modelling I am confused with sketching the details of characters Paint programs.

Is a Tablet PC necessary or is it possible to sketch well with just a mouse?

Thanks,
Pincho Paxton
Years of Service
User Offline
It's not easy to draw with a mouse, but you don't have to have a tablet either. You could draw the outline on paper, and then scan the picture into your art package. If you don't have a scanner then you could either make 3d models and animate them, or get used to drawing with the mouse. If you have enough money for a tablet then you should get one. I don't have one, and I think I prefer the scanner method personally.

Pincho.
greenlig
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Dec 2003 13:52 Edited at: 26th Dec 2003 13:56
Using the mouse isnt as hard as you think... If you go for a looser feel to scetching, you can geta good outline to work from.

http://www.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=22316&b=4
<----- example of mouse scetching

regards
Greenlig

I got best and fairest for soccer WHOOHOOO!
Lewiji
Years of Service
User Offline
I have a tablet, however I much prefer using the mouse in a high zoomed pixel-perfect manner.

<intelligent, witty comment here>
Shadow Robert
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Jan 2004 01:04
i'm still getting used to my tablet, however i have had a TabletPC for a while now and honestly i can't think of anything more perfect to sketch on

and i use Sketchbook Pro (found here) which quite honestly is one of the best tablet enabled programs there is.
Painter8 is also extremely good for using them...