Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / War Game Thread - Developing Complex Strategy Games

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Jun 2019 16:13 Edited at: 20th Jun 2019 16:30
Hello Everyone...

I am somewhat new to The Game Creators (TGC) tools and products, though I have been tracking the company for a very long time. I have seen nothing but constant improvement and innovation with their products and tools over the years. As a result, the tools that TGC now offers should be more than powerful enough to allow military history enthusiasts who are also developers and engineers the ability to re-expand the once very popular genre of the pc-based war game or what is more commonly called the strategy game.

Such games are based on hexagonal map boards\screens, which are often maddeningly difficult to develop and implement. Prior to my recent conversion over to the AGKSharp extension for Visual Studio, I was developing such a game using the MonoGame Game Engine. Due to the lack of documentation, practically every aspect of working with this engine, as solid as it was, was a new major research endeavor. When I finally had come to the point where I needed an interface to start controlling certain aspects of my own game, there was little to be had and the truly legitimate available tool lacked substantial documentation that provided the where withall to use the tool.

As a result, I decided to give AGKSharp a try. I am finding that I have been able to provide certain functionality within a very short time whereas this same functionality using MonoGame took weeks of testing and tinkering to get right.