Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / FPS is lower when using AGK S

Author
Message
Cybermind
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2002
Location: Denmark
Posted: 4th Jul 2019 12:51 Edited at: 4th Jul 2019 12:54
I have a project that runs at 240 FPS when I use AppGameKit C on my laptop, I just tried AppGameKit S and the new player on my laptop and now the FPS as around 45-50. It is an i7 2.4GHz with a GTX 860m. Could I be doing something wrong? Is there anything I have to change when moving to AppGameKit C from AppGameKit S? Do I have to wait for the release version of AppGameKit S to see performance improvements? I am not keen on posting my source public as it is an online multiplayer game.
13/0
Ranietz
AGK Gold Backer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2004
Location: Norway
Posted: 4th Jul 2019 13:54
There's an option under the build menu that say "FPS Run". Have you tried that?
Cybermind
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2002
Location: Denmark
Posted: 4th Jul 2019 14:11
Now I have but it doesn't improve. It is a 2D game using sprites. I have split up the sync command so I only use the relevant update functions, could this have an impact?
13/0
Ranietz
AGK Gold Backer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2004
Location: Norway
Posted: 4th Jul 2019 14:23
I'm not sure.
Projects should run the same in both Classic and Studio as far as I know.
Have you tried other projects? Any differences with the default (new) project?
Qube_
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2014
Location:
Posted: 4th Jul 2019 16:47
I've mentioned this before but AppGameKit Classic after version 2018-07-12 had a big FPS drop ( vsync off ). Every version of Classic after that has been slower + AppGameKit Studio too. As AppGameKit Studio is getting a new engine I assume we'll at least get back the raw grunt we lost. Not sure if Classic will ever get fixed as it's been the same for a year now.
SFSW
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Oct 2002
Location:
Posted: 4th Jul 2019 16:48
The changes you made to the render/update/sync sequence could have an impact. Difficult to say without knowing what they are. Does anything change if you close the AGKS IDE entirely and launch your game directly with the player in its folder?
Santman
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2011
Location: Inverness
Posted: 6th Jul 2019 20:14
I've had numerous 3d issues with studio, from the sun no longer lighting the same way to textures appearing on objects they are never assigned to. Paul has my project to look into these, but one of the issues was a much larger memory footprint (1 gb plus more) and a drop of about 10 fps.

I'm quite worried.....all videos of vulkan to opengl comparisons on YouTube show Vulkan also uses more memory, which seems really odd.
Rick Nasher
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jul 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posted: 7th Jul 2019 16:04 Edited at: 7th Jul 2019 20:42
I've gotten a new machine so not much to worry, but I surely hope Vulkan isn't going cause a meltdown on some systems..

[EDIT]
@Santman: do you have some example links that show the large memory usage?



Idea: As an Engine Demo they should create a terrain with an irrupting volcano spitting out rocks, magma and smoke, with a lava flow running down hill using shaders, particles and lighting effects, etc to demonstrate the fps under GL vs Vulkan.
CJB
Valued Member
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Feb 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posted: 25th Jul 2019 01:17
Maybe driver settings are forcing your app to vsync?
RickV
TGC Development Director
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2000
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th Jul 2019 07:57
@Cybermind can you share your project with us to take a look at?
Development Director
TGC Team
Cybermind
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2002
Location: Denmark
Posted: 25th Jul 2019 12:41
@RickV, I would be delighted to do that, I will just test the mentioned changes to sync where I use update/swap instead. It would be convenient if you use local play (not "Global Net", but I can set up a server instance for you if need be), then you need at least two Xbox controllers on one PC. I will start right away, to whom do I send the project when I am done testing the sync/update/swap?
13/0
Cybermind
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2002
Location: Denmark
Posted: 25th Jul 2019 12:58
I've just tried using Sync() instead, with AGKS the FPS is about 50% lower than when running it from AGKC.
13/0
RickV
TGC Development Director
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2000
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th Jul 2019 13:07
Hi,

I'll ask Paul to post some comments on here first. He might have some insights.
Development Director
TGC Team
Cybermind
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2002
Location: Denmark
Posted: 25th Jul 2019 13:31
Alright I'll wait for that Thanks!
13/0
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th Jul 2019 14:20
Please can you send me the project

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-23 22:53:45
Your offset time is: 2019-08-23 22:53:45