Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / How do I save the theme preferences?

Author
Message
=PRoF=
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2003
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posted: 15th Aug 2019 17:28
Every time I fire up AppGameKit Studio it opens the editor in the dark theme, and I have to manually change it to the light theme.

I've hunted high and low for a solution, but as yet have found nothing helpful

This is becoming really really frustrating, as you can imagine.
c0d3r9
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 15th Aug 2019 17:42
For a test i started Studio with and without admin rights, change the style.Start again and in both cases it start with the style i selected before i close studio.
Hmmm mysterious...
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD
=PRoF=
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2003
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posted: 15th Aug 2019 23:05
Mysterious indeed.

At first I thought maybe it's just a problem on my tablet, so I tried my main PC, and I get exactly the same issue.

I tried running it as an administrator also, but to no avail.

blink0k
AGK Developer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 16th Aug 2019 00:10 Edited at: 16th Aug 2019 00:12
Just to be clear (I think)
1. Go into AppGameKit Studio
2. Click on View/Change color scheme
3. Select a new scheme
4. Exit AppGameKit Studio

5. Go into AppGameKit Studio (Theme changes back to dark)

So this is happening to me too (Theme reverts to dark)

PS: It's interesting because the Editor themes stick but the Studio ones don't
c0d3r9
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 16th Aug 2019 00:51
I try a second time both things and it works fine.
And i test it short on my main pc(before i test it on the laptop) and all is fine too.
I have the non-steam version. Maybe thats the reason.
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD
blink0k
AGK Developer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 16th Aug 2019 00:52 Edited at: 16th Aug 2019 00:53
I have the non steam windows version 2019-08-05 (Windows)
c0d3r9
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 16th Aug 2019 01:12
me too.thats really a mysterium
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD
blink0k
AGK Developer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 16th Aug 2019 01:25
I uninstalled AGKClassic and AGKStudio
I removed c:/Program Files (x86)/The Game Creators
I removed C:\Users\tony\AppData\Local\agk and AGKApps

I installed AppGameKit Studio

Still doesn't work
=PRoF=
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2003
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posted: 16th Aug 2019 11:06
Yes, I have been using the Non-Steam version of AGK-Studio.

I have also tried the original release, and the 2019-08-05 build
Amon
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2014
Location: Shropshire, United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Aug 2019 11:58
Same thing happens to me with the non-steam version. Tested it as admin, uninstalled, reinstalled but it still reverts to the dark theme when I reopen it.
Win 10 Pro - AMD RYZEN 7 Octacore 3.8ghz - 32GB DDR4 - RTX 2070 8GB
DeadElvis
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jun 2010
Location: Fairview, TN
Posted: 16th Aug 2019 13:40
Same here. Non-steam version.
c0d3r9
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 16th Aug 2019 18:20
it seems here on the thread i´m the only one with a working version
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD
=PRoF=
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2003
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posted: 19th Aug 2019 18:33
Yes @c0d3r9, very weird. Have you installed AGKS somewhere other than the default location?

I'm at a bit of a loss as to why it works for you, and not me
c0d3r9
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 19th Aug 2019 19:09 Edited at: 19th Aug 2019 19:11
In a previous install i had it on another location.
But atm on both machines i install it on the default path.
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD
hendron
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2015
Location:
Posted: 19th Aug 2019 19:42
Same issue here. Seeded IDE themes seem to be recalled properly when opening AGKS, however. So I guess a workaround for now would be to find a seed value that produces a nice light theme and use that. The problem is that it's hard to find a seeded value that looks nice and works in all areas. 51297 is one that I think looks pretty good with the light editor scheme, but the checkboxes and menus don't have enough contrast. Would be great if we could start with a seeded theme and then edit it.
c0d3r9
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 19th Aug 2019 21:26
Quote: "Same issue here. Seeded IDE themes seem to be recalled properly when opening AGKS, however."

Then its not an issue with your installation.
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD
hendron
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2015
Location:
Posted: 19th Aug 2019 22:28 Edited at: 19th Aug 2019 22:29
Quote: "Then its not an issue with your installation."


Just to be clear -- it's only seeded IDE themes that load properly for me when opening AGKS. If I choose one of the predefined themes (Classic Style, Dark Style, Light Style, etc), it always reverts back to the default theme when re-launching AGKS.
c0d3r9
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 19th Aug 2019 23:19
Oh crap....i always thought the seedstyle is the problem...sorry guys.
I did not read blink0k´s post at start....and yes indeed it doesn´t save the changes if i change the style view->change color scheme.
I think it was forgotten if the issue was fixed with the seed style.
Well i have that issue too.
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD
blink0k
AGK Developer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 20th Aug 2019 04:36 Edited at: 20th Aug 2019 04:37
Give it some support and it will prolly get fixed
https://github.com/TheGameCreators/AGK-Studio/issues/489
traumvogel
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jul 2013
Location:
Posted: 20th Aug 2019 20:49
I have the same problem. Using latest Steam version. Start Studio, select "View -> Change Color Scheme" Select any but Default Style. Close Studio. Start Studio. Studio starts again with Default Style.
What it does remember is the selected Editor Color Scheme.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-03-28 15:41:19
Your offset time is: 2020-03-28 15:41:19